Research Guides: Reference Resources: Legal Information

Legal Information

The Nancy Thompson Learning Commons provides a wealth of information on legal and law-related topics.

Recommended Print and Ebook Legal Sources

Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions

Electronic Resource

Philosophy of Law: An Encyclopedia

Electronic Resource

Reports of Cases Argued and Determined in the Supreme Court of New Jersey

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Supreme Court Compendium: Data, Decisions, and Developments

Electronic Resource

Recommended Legal Web Sites

Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy, Yale Law School
Education Law Center
Google Scholar: Search for documents from federal or state courts (case law)
1. Select "Legal documents" (just below search box).
2. Then select "Federal courts" or "New Jersey courts."
New Jersey Legislative Histories
"A legislative history is a compilation of the documents which express the purpose or intent behind the passage of a particular law. The State Library compiles histories on all New Jersey laws which are general and permanent, and are added to NJSA. Appropriations, temporary and executed, and repealer acts are excluded."
New Jersey Legislature
New Jersey Manual on Style for Judicial Opinions
Approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey, this manual provides guidance on citing legal and government documents.
NJ Administrative Code, New Jersey Office of Administrative Law Research
Thomas: Legislative Information from the Library of Congress

Recommended Online Legal Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
HeinOnline: The Modern Link to Legal History This link opens in a new window Features archival access to select law reviews and law journals; documents by and about U.S. presidents; historical and contemporary reports and books about the U.S. Supreme Court.
Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCOhost) (NJSL) This link opens in a new window Provides information from legal reference resources. Also features a wide selection of legal forms, searchable by state and by popular legal areas.
LexisNexis -- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Offers business, news, and legal information from sources such as newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, wire services, and transcripts. Also features company profiles, detailed financials, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and SEC filings, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, federal regulations, and state administrative codes. This database replaces LexisNexis Academic.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law (HeinOnline) -- Complimentary This link opens in a new window Features "a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world...[including] every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery." The collection also provides access to full-text books as well as articles from periodicals, proceedings, reports, and other publications.
World Constitutions Illustrated (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window Features the current constitution of every country in the world, with text provided in its original language(s) and in English translation. Also provides "more than 800 classic books on constitutions, constitutional history and jurisprudence, and political and economic history."

Reference Resources

My Profile

Ask a Librarian

Legal Information

Recommended Print and Ebook Legal Sources

Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions

Philosophy of Law: An Encyclopedia

Reports of Cases Argued and Determined in the Supreme Court of New Jersey

Supreme Court Compendium: Data, Decisions, and Developments

Recommended Legal Web Sites

Recommended Online Legal Databases

Recommended Web Sites for Consumers

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact