Research Guides: Reference Resources: Company & Industry Information

Recommended Books and Ebooks for Company & Industry Information

Encyclopedia of American Industries

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Global Industries

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Small Business

Electronic Resource

Historical Encyclopedia of American Business

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Historical Encyclopedia of American Business

Electronic Resource

Icons of Business: An Encyclopedia of Mavericks, Movers, and Shakers

Main Collection

Industry and Firm Studies

Main Collection

International Directory of Company Histories

Electronic resource.
v.59 (2004) - v.143 (2013)

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Electronic Resource.
The OOH provides information about specific jobs, including educational requirements, salary range, availability of jobs, job requirements, and working conditions.

Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2018-2019

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
Provides job descriptions and statistics from the U.S. Department of Labor.

Oxford Handbook of Entrepreneurship

Electronic Resource

Oxford Handbook of International Business

Electronic Resource

Small Business Sourcebook

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Recommended Company & Industry Information Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Provides corporate data, in-depth industry analyses, summary financials, and information on company locations, top competitors, and officers. Also features worldwide market data reports and analytical articles covering economic and political topics. Includes information provided by Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, and Snapshots (Snapdata International Group).
Note: To locate a company profile, search for the company name and Hoover's, e.g., Microsoft Hoover's.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Provides industry market research and industry risk ratings on more than 700 American industries. Includes market conditions and forecasts, supply chains, and competitor activity ascertained from analysis of economic, demographic, and government data.
LexisNexis -- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Offers business, news, and legal information from sources such as newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, wire services, and transcripts. Also features company profiles, detailed financials, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and SEC filings, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, federal regulations, and state administrative codes. This database replaces LexisNexis Academic.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window Offers company profiles (including SWOT analyses), case studies, country information, and comprehensive market information on a variety of industries.
Mergent Online (FTSE Russell) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Provides global company and industry information; includes public company descriptions, financial data, annual reports, equity reports, industry reports, and country profiles. NOTE: Permits only five simultaneous users. Please Log Out when finished.
Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA) (JerseyClicks) (NJSL) -- Complimentary This link opens in a new window Contains essential information about companies in the U.S. and Canada, healthcare providers in the U.S., and residents of the U.S. and Canada. It facilitates research on U.S. businesses, provides tools for creating marketing and small business plans, aids in job searching, and much more.

Recommended Company and Industry Information Web Sites

Better Business Bureau
Financial Times. Companies.
Financial Times. Markets.
Fuld & Company Internet Intelligence Index®, CI Reference Center, CI Toolbox & SharePoint CI Portal™
Register for access to competitive intelligence Reference Center and free competitive intelligence tools.
Manta Company Profiles
Offers basic profiles for 45 million companies worldwide and detailed profiles for 13 million U.S. companies.
North American Industry Classification System
The standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Standard Industrial Classification
Search the 1987 version SIC manual by keyword. Links to SIC Division Structure.
U.S. Dept. of Commerce. International Trade Administration. Industry Trade and the Economy: Data and Analysis. Industry Analysis
U.S. International Trade Commission. Industry and Economic Analysis
Links to International Trade Commission publications.
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system
Provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to quickly research a company’s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. You also can find information about recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K but that a company does not have to disclose to investors.

Company & Industry Information

For a more comprehensive guide to company and industry information, please consult the Company and Industry Information Research Guide.

Reference Resources

My Profile

Ask a Librarian

Recommended Books and Ebooks for Company & Industry Information

Encyclopedia of American Industries

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries

Encyclopedia of Global Industries

Encyclopedia of Small Business

Historical Encyclopedia of American Business

Historical Encyclopedia of American Business

Icons of Business: An Encyclopedia of Mavericks, Movers, and Shakers

Industry and Firm Studies

International Directory of Company Histories

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2018-2019

Oxford Handbook of Entrepreneurship

Oxford Handbook of International Business

Small Business Sourcebook

Recommended Company & Industry Information Databases

Recommended Company and Industry Information Web Sites

Company & Industry Information

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact