Skip to Main Content

Citation Style Resources

According to the Kean Academic Integrity Policy, you must always acknowledge (cite) the source of any words, ideas, data, images, music, etc. used in your papers, presentations, etc. This guide covers some of the most commonly used citation styles.

Online Citation Manuals

AP Stylebook (Associated Press) This link opens in a new window
Features the updated version of the Associated Press (AP) Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law used by journalists. The stylebook provides grammar, punctuation, usage, and journalistic writing guidelines. The online version includes Topical Guides, Ask the Editor, and the AP Blog. NOTE: Permits only ten simultaneous users. Please log off when finished.
Chicago Manual of Style Online (The University of Chicago) This link opens in a new window
Features formatting and documentation rules for the 16th (2010) and 17th (2017) editions of the Chicago Manual of Style. This site includes the Citation Quick Guide, Chicago Style Q & A, and related resources.
MLA Handbook Plus (Modern Language Association) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the online version of the 9th edition of the MLA Handbook. The site includes practice exercises, tutorials, and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature and MLA Guide to Digital Literacy.

Recommended Citation Style Web Sites

The following Websites provide formatting and documentation rules for various citation styles.

Citation Style Guides

The following citation style guides are available through the Nancy Thompson Learning Commons. Books with a Call Number beginning with the letters "Ref" are shelved in alphanumeric order by call number in the Reference Collection on the second floor or at the Reference Desk on the first floor. Books with the designation "Electronic Resource" are e-books, which are accessible by clicking the hyperlinked title.

Citation Style Guides Gallery

ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information

Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

AMA Handbook of Business Writing

Electronic Resource

AMA Manual of Style (10th Edition)

(American Medical Association)
Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

AMA Manual of Style (11th Edition)

(American Medical Association)
Electronic Resource

APA Style Guide to Electronic References, Sixth Edition

Electronic Resource
Due to Federal Copyright Law, users may print one copy for their personal use only.

American Sociological Association Style Guide (7th Edition)

Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

American Sociological Association Style Guide

Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

The Associated Press Stylebook 2020

Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

The Associated Press Stylebook 2022-2024

Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation

Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition

Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian manual)

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

MLA Handbook

(8th Edition)
Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

MLA Handbook (9th Edition)

Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)

(6th Edition)
Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)

(7th Edition)
Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers (Council of Science Editors)

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Last Updated: Dec 5, 2023 9:11 AM
URL: https://libguides.kean.edu/citationstyles
Print Page

Subjects: Citation Guide, Faculty Resources, First Year Student Resources, Reference Resources