This is the "Set Up Your EndNote Web Account" page of the "EndNote Web" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote Web  

EndNote Web is a web-based tool that will help you manage your references (sources) and create bibliographies in various citation styles.
Last Updated: Jul 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.kean.edu/endnoteweb Print Guide RSS Updates

Set Up Your EndNote Web Account Print Page
  Search: 
 

EndNote Web Handouts

Once you've set up your free EndNote Web account (see How to Register sections of this guide), you will be able to export references from databases into your account. The handouts below provide step-by-step instructions for various databases:

 

EndNote Web

EndNote Web is a web-based tool for managing your citations. EndNote Web will enable you to:

  • keep track of book and article citation records found in online catalogs and databases
  • manually add citation information for books, print journals articles, and other types of resources you have on hand
  • keep your source information organized into groups for different classes or projects
  • create bibliographies, References, and Works Cited lists in numerous citation styles (including APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more)
  • use Cite While You Write while working in Microsoft Word to cite sources in your paper and build your bibliography

In order to use EndNote Web, you must first sign up for your own free account. Choose the appropriate set of steps below, depending on whether you are using an on-campus or off-campus computer.

 

How to Register (On-Campus)

If you are working at a computer on the main campus in Union or the East Campus in Hillside, then follow these steps:

  • Visit the Kean University Library website at http://library.kean.edu.
  • Scroll down and click the EndNote Web logo on the left-hand side of the page.
  • Locate New to EndNote Web? Then click Sign Up for an account.
  • Follow the registration instructions to create a new account.

The next time you want to access EndNote Web (either from on campus or off campus), simply click the EndNote Web logo on the Kean University Library website. You may also bookmark EndNote Web on your own computer.

 

How to Register (Off-Campus)

If you are working at a computer outside of the main campus in Union or the East Campus in Hillside, then follow these steps:

  • Visit the Kean University Library website at http://library.kean.edu.
  • Click Article & More to access the Databases page.
  • Click the letter W on the alphabetical menu.
  • Click Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge / Thomson Reuters).
  • Login to Web of Science with your Kean University Library Barcode.
  • Click My EndNote Web located in the upper right part of the Web of Science screen.
  • Click Register (located on the left side of the screen).
  • Follow the registration instructions to create a new account.

The next time you want to access EndNote Web (either from on campus or off campus), simply click the EndNote Web logo on the Kean University Library website. You may also bookmark EndNote Web on your own computer.

 

Cite While You Write

Once you have signed up for your own free account, you can also download a free EndNote Web Plug-in onto your personal computer or laptop. This plug-in will enable you to use Cite While You Write while working in Microsoft Word. You will be able to insert in-text citations from your EndNote account and format bibliographies from within your Word document.

The plug-in is available for Windows or Macintosh.

Simply login to your EndNote Web account on your personal computer or laptop, click the yellow Options tab, click Download Installers, then follow the instructions to download Cite While You Write.

If Cite While You Write downloads successfully onto your computer or laptop, an EndNote Web toolbar should now be visible at the top of a Microsoft Word document.

Kean University Library

Profile Image
Kean University Featured Guides
Contact Info
Craig Anderson cjanders@kean.edu
Linda Cifelli
lcifelli@kean.edu
Janette Gonzalez jagonzal@kean.edu
Shirley Horbatt shorbatt@kean.edu
Chrisler Pitts
cpitts@kean.edu

Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.

 

Chat with a Kean Librarian!

Disclaimer: The Kean University Library is not responsible for the content of Web sites sponsored by external entities. Links are for educational purposes only. A Web site's presence on this list does not represent an endorsement of the site's contents. Some sites may contain graphic images or text.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip