Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reference Resources

Features resources helpful for ready-reference questions: when you need quick access to facts, definitions, statistics, biographical information, maps, and so on.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Print Subject Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance

Nancy Thompson Library Annex

Encyclopedia of Criminology

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of Education Research

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues

Nancy Thompson Library Annex

Encyclopedia of Media and Politics

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of New Jersey

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip Hop Culture

Main Collection (Third Floor)

Encyclopedia of Religion in America

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Teaching and Teacher Research

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of Women's Folklore and Folklife

Volumes 1-2
Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Icons of Hip Hop: An Encyclopedia of the Movement, Music, and Culture

Main Collection (Third Floor)

Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia

Main Collection

Recommended Subject Encyclopedia Web Sites

Recommended Online Subject Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.