Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.
The digital humanities (usually translated as shuzi renwen 数字人文 in mainland China and shuwei renwen 數位人文 in Taiwan) become an emerging field in China. Even though established research centers are very rare in China now, research have been conducted in this field. Several Chinese key universities have centers for developing relevant project.
It is a brief introduction to the "Emerging Methods and Genre" from Digital_Humanities, which was published by Massachusetts Institute of Technology. For those interested in Digital_Humanities, the E-book is available below.
Emerging Methods and Genre of the DH
Along with the central role of theory, methodologies drive much digital humanities work. However, DH methodologies vary and should not been seen as explicitly linked with, or confused for, DH technologies (Kraus, 2013). In many ways, understanding digital humanities is easiest through grappling with its many methodologies, which may be why so many DH presentations focus on process and project. It’s difficult to collocate the totality of DH methodologies, but in the book Digital_Humanities (2012), the authors dedicate a chapter to “emerging methods and genres” which we synthesize below by way of an introduction.
Enhanced Critical Curation
Object-based arguments through the curation of digital media, including collection repositories and scholarly narratives supported by digitized or born-digital primary source materials.
Augmented Editions and Fluid Textuality
Digital critical editions, marked up and encoded texts, often created through crowd-sourced methods and open to perpetual revision, annotation, and remix.
Scale: The Law of Large Numbers
As data sets grow larger and larger, humanists hope to create new findings through computational- and algorithmic-enabled interpretations of our digitized and born-digital culture materials.
Distant/Close, Macro/Micro, Surface/Depth
In contrast to, and often in conjunction with, close reading, distant reading looks to understand and analyze large corpora across time through “trends, patterns, and relationships.”
Cultural Analytics, Aggregation, and Data-Mining
Through computational means, cultural analytics mines, studies, and displays cultural materials in new aggregated or remixed forms, often including interactive and narrativized visualizations
Visualization and Data Design
Arguments made from the visualization of data, including virtual/spatial representations, geo-referencing and mapping, simulated environments, and other designs constructed from and informed by data.
Locative Investigation and Thick Mapping
The creation of “data landscapes” through connecting real, virtual, and interpretive sites, often manifesting as digital cultural mapping or geographic information systems (GIS).
The Animated Archive
In which the static archive of the past is made alive and virtually experiential, including the active archiving of physical spaces through virtual means, and multi-modal/faceted approaches to collection access and interactivity.
Distributed Knowledge Production and Performative Access
Digital projects take collaborative teams that cross both disciplines and borders and that often challenge the idea of “the author” through team contributions, crowdsourcing, and the user-based performance of the “text.”
Humanities Gaming
Taking on “historical simulation,” humanities gaming uses virtual learning environments to create interactive narratives that engage users and enable the exploration of humanist themes.
Code, Software, and Platform Studies
Humanists have studied texts, the book, and many other forms of writing, so what to make of the code programmers write, the software computer users use, and the platforms that shape our social and cultural interactions?
Database Documentaries
Multi-modal narratives formed from a database, branching out into multiple paths users explore, possibly incorporating live-feed data, all calling into question authorial control/intent and the role of the reader.
Repurposable Content and Remix Culture
Digital content can be read, written, and rewritten, and as such all digital objects are subject to sample, migration, translation, remix, and other forms of critical reuse.
Pathway to Digital Humanities at WKU, a Student Partnering with Staff (SpS) Research Project
Bodong Chen chenbod@kean.edu
Yutong Feng fengyu@kean.edu
Yang Le yangle@wku.edu.cn
Charles Greenberg cjgberg@wku.edu.cn
A valuable and engaging guide to applying for-and getting-grants in the humanities and social sciencesScholars in the humanities and social sciences need money to do research. This book shows them how to get it. In this accessible volume, Raphael Folsom shares proven strategies in a series of short, witty chapters. It features tips on how graduate students, postdocs, and young faculty members can present themselves and their work in the best possible light. The book covers the basics of the grant-writing process, including finding a mentor, organizing a writing workshop, conceptualizing the project on a larger scale, and tailoring an application for specific submissions. The book includes interviews with nine of the most respected scholars in the country, each of whom has evaluated thousands of grant applications. The first authoritative book on the subject, Folsom's indispensable work will become a must-have resource for years to come.
As all scholars increasingly use digital tools to support their research, and every internet user becomes used to data being available, elucidating, and engaging, the creative aspects of Digital Humanities work are coming under increasing scrutiny. This volume explores the practice of makingnew tools, new images, new collections, and new artworks in an academic environment, detailing who needs to be involved and what their roles might be, and how they come together to produce knowledge as a collective. The chapters presented here demonstrate that creation is never neutral withpolitical and theoretical concerns intentionally or unavoidably always being written into the fabric of what is being made, even if that's the seeming neatness of computer code. In presenting their own creative research, the writers in this volume offer examples of practice that will be of use toanyone interested in learning more about contemporary Digital Humanities scholarship and its implications.
Many in higher education fear that the humanities are facing a crisis. But even if the rhetoric about "crisis" is overblown, humanities departments do face increasing pressure from administrators, politicians, parents, and students. In A New Deal for the Humanities, Gordon Hutner and Feisal G. Mohamed bring together twelve prominent scholars who address the history, the present state, and the future direction of the humanities. These scholars keep the focus on public higher education, for it is in our state schools that the liberal arts are taught to the greatest numbers and where their neglect would be most damaging for the nation. The contributors offer spirited and thought-provoking debates on a diverse range of topics. For instance, they deplore the push by administrations to narrow learning into quantifiable outcomes as well as the demands of state governments for more practical, usable training. Indeed, for those who suggest that a college education should be "practical"--that it should lean toward the sciences and engineering, where the high-paying jobs are--this book points out that while a few nations produce as many technicians as the United States does, America is still renowned worldwide for its innovation and creativity, skills taught most effectively in the humanities. Most importantly, the essays in this collection examine ways to make the humanities even more effective, such as offering a broader array of options than the traditional major/minor scheme, options that combine a student's professional and intellectual interests, like the new medical humanities programs. A democracy can only be as energetic as the minds of its citizens, and the questions fundamental to the humanities are also fundamental to a thoughtful life. A New Deal for the Humanities takes an intrepid step in making the humanities--and our citizens--even stronger in the future.
Exploring the developments that have occurred in the practice of oral history since digital audio and video became viable, this book explores various groundbreaking projects in the history of digital oral history, distilling the insights of pioneers in the field and applying them to the constantly changing electronic landscape of today.
Digital Research Tools (DiRT) Directory
Description: The DiRT Directory is a registry of digital research tools for scholarly use. DiRT facilitates digital humanists and others conducting digital research to find and compare resources ranging from content management systems to music OCR, statistical analysis packages to mindmapping software. (Description is from DiRT Directory's "About" page)
Description: Method Commons is a collection of research methods and techniques for analyzing text. This site describes common or interesting sequences of actions, or recipes, showing users how to combine freely accessible resources to perform various analytic tasks. (Description is from the Methods Commons’ home page)
Description: The Programming Historian offers novice-friendly, peer-reviewed tutorials that help humanists learn a wide range of digital tools, techniques, and workflows to facilitate their research. (From The Programming Historian's "About" page).
Description: Sourcecaster explains how to use the command line to solves common challenges in digital primary sources.
Text Analysis Port for Research (TAPoR)
Description: TAPoR discovers the commonly used or widely respected groups of tools for manipulating, analyzing and presenting text. You can can also rate and rank different tools used by DH scholars.
Taxonomy of Digital Research Activities in the Humanities (TaDiRAH)
Description: The Taxonomy of Digital Research Activities in the Humanities is a community-driven site that helps to structure relevant information and to discover the language.
(Source: http://iupui.campusguides.com/digital-humanities/tools)
