Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Humanities

A Wenzhou-Kean University 2018 Student Partnering with Staff (SpS) Research Program Project, A Pathway to Digital Humanities, seeks both to gauge and stimulate interest in digital humanities.

What are Database Documentaries?

Unlike a typical filmed documentary, which is both linear and a reduced synthesis of source materials, database documentaries are modular, branching, and hyper textual. Database documentaries are multi linear, not watched, but rather performed by a reader/viewer who is provided with a series of guided paths. Database documentaries may be built on multiple, overlapping databases. Or they may even consist only of active links that retrieve even external media or content. The possibility for alternative paths, which are user-activated, a far greater fluidity of movement and pacing is possible.

SOURCE: Burdick, A., Drucker, J., Lunenfeld, P., Pressner, T., & Schnapp, J. (2012). Digital Humanities. Cambridge, MA: Massachuetts Institute of Technology. Retrieved from https://mitpress.mit.edu/books/digitalhumanities

Case Study of Database Documentary - Blast Theory Group

Case Study of Database Documentaries - the Labyrinth project

WKU Books on Database Documentaries

Contemporary Documentary

This book offers a rich survey of the rapidly expanding landscape of documentary film, television, video, and new media. The collection of original essays addresses the emerging forms, popular genres, and innovative approaches of the digital era. The anthology highlights geographically and thematically diverse examples of documentaries that have expanded the scope and impact of non-fiction cinema and captured the attention of global audiences over the past three decades. It also explores the experience of documentary today, with its changing dynamics of production, collaboration, distribution, and exhibition, and its renewed political and cultural relevance.

Expressive Processing

This book discusses how computational processes open possibilities for understanding and creating digital media. What matters in understanding digital media? Is looking at the external appearance and audience experience of software enough--or should we look further? In Expressive Processing. Digital media offer particularly intelligible examples of things we need to understand about software in general; if we understand, for instance, the capabilities and histories of artificial intelligence techniques in the context of a computer game, we can use that understanding to judge the use of similar techniques in such higher-stakes social contexts as surveillance.