Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database of the Month: February 2017 -- EBM (Evidence Based Medicine) Reviews (Ovid)

February 2017

Evidence based medicine is defined by Sackett et al. (1996) as:

"the conscientious, explicit, and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients. The practice of evidence based medicine means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external clinical evidence from systematic research."

This definition has evolved over time, with a more recent definition by Sackett et al. (2000), as cited in Haynes, Devereaux, and Guyatt (2002), referring to evidence based medicine as "the integration of best research evidence with clinical expertise and patient values." 

Nurses, occupational therapists, physical therapists, physician assistants, physicians, speech-language pathologists, and other health-care professionals all depend upon access to evidence from research conducted using well-grounded methods. This evidence regarding the effectiveness of health-care treatments contributes to health-care professionals making the best decisions regarding patient care. 

The EBM (Evidence Based Medicine) Reviews (Ovid) database is a key resource for Kean students and faculty seeking evidence from sound research on health-care treatments. In particular, the EBM database provides access to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provides full-text systematic reviews of the effects of health-care treatments, as studied in clinical trials.  

In addition to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, EBM Reviews also provides access to a number of other resources, including:

  • ACP Journal Club -- features research studies from two journals: ACP Journal Club (published by the American College of Physicians) and Evidence-Based Medicine (published jointly by the American College of Physicians and the British Medical Journal Group).
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) -- provides critical evaluations of systematic reviews published in medical journals.
  • Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials -- offers bibliographic records for controlled trials; produced jointly by the National Library of Medicine and Reed Elsevier.
  • Cochrane Methodology Register -- features bibliographic references to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, and other reports highlighting the methods of systematic reviews of health care treatments. 
  • Health Technology Assessment -- provides information on evaluation of health care treatments connected to technology.
  • NHS Economic Evaluation Database -- features cost-benefit analyses relating to health care treatments.  

You may search all seven of these resources simultaneously or limit your searching to one resource (or more than one resource). Simply click "Change" to make your selection(s). The search form enables you to search by keyword, author, title, or journal. Click the "Limits" option to focus on particular publication types or date range.

If you have questions about the EBM (Evidence Based Medicine) Reviews database or any of the Kean University Library's other research databases, please consult Ask a Librarian for assistance.

 

References

Haynes, R. B., Devereaux, P. J., & Guyatt, G. H. (2002). Clinical expertise in the era of evidence-based medicine and patient
          choice. 
Evidence Based Medicine7:36-38. doi:10.1136/ebm.7.2.36

Sackett, D. L., Rosenberg, W. M. C., Gray, J. A. M., Haynes, R. B., & Richardson, W. S. (1996). Evidence based medicine: What it is and what it
          isn't. British Medical Journal, 312:71-72. doi: https://doi.org/10.1136/bmj.312.7023.71

 

L. Cifelli, February 1, 2017

If you like this database, try some of these...

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Kean University Library

Profile Photo
Research Guides
Contact:
Craig Anderson
cjanders@kean.edu

Linda Cifelli
lcifelli@kean.edu

Janette Gonzalez
jagonzal@kean.edu

Chrisler Pitts
cpitts@kean.edu

Tips for Using Your Ovid Resource