Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database of the Month: April 2017 -- Art, Design & Architecture Collection (ProQuest)

April 2017

Are you researching Victorian architecture, costume design, or urban planning?  Do you need modern or contemporary art criticism?  Perhaps you are searching for information about European art since late antiquity?  Look no further.  The Art, Design & Architecture Collection from ProQuest provides information about each of these topics and much more.

The Art, Design & Architecture Collection is composed of four databases:  ARTbibliographies Modern, Design and Applied Arts Index, International Bibliography of Art, and Arts & Humanities Database.

ARTbibliographies Modern features modern and contemporary art.  The database encompasses a wide variety of art forms, including fine art, crafts, design, photography, performance art, and digital art.  You will find abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, books, and more from 1974 to the present.

Abstracts highlighting design, applied arts, and designers since the mid-19th century are available in the Design and Applied Arts Index.  This database provides material on graphic design, fashion and clothing, architecture, furniture, industrial design, animation, and many other related disciplines.  

Western art is the focus of the International Bibliography of Art.  Subject coverage includes museum studies, antiques, folk art, decorative arts, archaeology, conservation, architectural history, and fine art.

The Arts & Humanities Database provides full-text coverage of art, design, anthropology, archaeology, modern languages, history, music, cultural studies, philosophy, and religion.

If full-text link options are not listed in the search results, then click   Full Text Finder (when present) to check the availability of full-text for the article in other Kean University Library databases.

If you have questions about the Art, Design & Architecture Collection or any of the Kean University Library's other research databases, please consult  Ask a Librarian for assistance.

C. Pitts, April 1, 2017

If you like this database, try some of these...

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password. 

Kean University Library

Profile Photo
Research Guides
Contact:
Craig Anderson
cjanders@kean.edu

Linda Cifelli
lcifelli@kean.edu

Janette Gonzalez
jagonzal@kean.edu

Chrisler Pitts
cpitts@kean.edu

How to use your ProQuest Resource

Click here to access the Art, Design & Architecture Collection​ user guide produced by ProQuest.