Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: Off-Site Program at Raritan Valley Community College

This guide serves as a gateway to library resources and services available to students, faculty, and staff at Kean University's School of Nursing Offsite Program at Raritan Valley Community College.

Welcome

The Nancy Thompson Learning Commons strives to meet the information needs of the Kean community by providing a broad range of resources and services.  Although the Learning Commons is physically located on the Union campus, digital resources and services are also available to all Kean students and faculty working at remote locations, including the Kean University School of Nursing off-site program at Raritan Valley Community College.

The Learning Commons web page serves as the gateway to the "virtual" library. In addition, information geared to remote/off-site students appears on this guide, not only under the current "Welcome" tab but also under the other tabbed pages listed across the top third of the page.

Use EndNote Online to Help Create Your Bibliographies

EndNote Online is a bibliographic citation manager, which you can use to keep track of books and articles you locate in various research databases and then to create a bibliography, References list, or Works Cited list in your required citation style (including APA, MLA, and others).

 
Visit the EndNote Online Guide at http://libguides.kean.edu/endnoteweb to learn more about EndNote Online, including how to sign up for your own free account.

  • Please pay particular attention on the EndNote Online Guide to the box labeled How To Register (Off-Campus) for step-by-step instructions on how to register for an EndNote Online account when you are working at a computer located at home, on the Raritan Valley Community College campus, or at any location other than Kean's Union campus. (Basically, you will need to register for your EndNote Online account for the first time through the Web of Science database.)
     
  • Once you've registered, you will be able to access your EndNote Online account by going directly to https://www.myendnoteweb.com/.

Interlibrary Loan

Students, faculty, and staff at Kean University's School of Nursing offsite program at Raritan Valley Community College may request books, book chapters, and articles not owned by the Nancy Thompson Learning Commons by filling out and submitting the Kean University Learning Commons Interlibrary Loan Form.

For questions regarding Interlibrary Loan, please contact 908-737-4600 or keanill@kean.edu.

Research Guides

The Research Guides are a collection of subject-focused research resources created by Kean University librarians. For instance, the following guides were created specifically for students and faculty in Kean's Nursing programs:

In addition, the following guides were also created for students and faculty:

  • Scholarships, Financial Aid, and Grants (contains resources on scholarships and other funding opportunities for students)
  • Student Guide (provides links to library brochures, class handouts, videos, tutorials, and more)
  • Faculty Guide (provides links to a publishing opportunities database, a guide to grant-funding opportunities, a guide for online multimedia resources, library forms, class handouts, videos, tutorials, and more)