Research Guides: Nursing: Off-Site Program at Raritan Valley Community College: Start Your Research

Recommended Nursing Reference Books

Advances in Contemporary Transcultural Nursing: Pathways of Cultural Awareness

Electronic Resource

The Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric Health and Social Care

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Health Care Management

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Health Services Research

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Medical Decision Making

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of Nursing Research

Electronic Resource

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine

Electronic Resource

Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence

Electronic Resource

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health

Electronic Resource

Handbook of Physiological Research Methods in Health Psychology

Electronic Resource

International Encyclopedia of Public Health

Electronic Resource

SAGE Handbook of Health Psychology

Electronic Resource

Recommended Transcultural Reference Books

Advances in Contemporary Transcultural Nursing: Pathways of Cultural Awareness

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-4

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America

Electronic Resource

Guide to Countries of the World

Electronic Resource

Handbook of World Families

Main Collection

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life

Electronic Resource, Volumes 1-5

Country Information Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Political Handbook of the World (CQ Press/Congressional Quarterly) "Comprehensive country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties, as well as profiles on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations."

Reference Databases

The following databases provide access to online encyclopedias covering multidisciplinary topics. Remember, these subject encyclopedias are great sources of background information on countless topics.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

DSM-V Online (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition; American Psychiatric Association) "This is the fifth edition of the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, or DSM-V."
Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
SAGE Knowledge Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press) Provides access to a collection of online videos that enable students to observe the practice of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Drama & Theatre, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.
ICE Learning Center (International Clinical Educators) Features videos for physical and occupational therapy. Videos are "filmed with actual patients and therapists in real-life treatment settings including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU. Diagnosis include musculoskeletal, nervous system, mental and behavioral disorders, respiratory, and pediatrics." NOTE: To access the database, please use your Kean University email address and create a password. For more information, click the following link: Access Instructions.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) JoVE is a peer-reviewed scientific video resource featuring high-quality demonstrations and detailed protocols that support biological, medical, chemical, and physical research. The journal includes the following sections: Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Cancer Research, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environment, Genetics, Immunology and Infection, Medicine, and Neuroscience. NOTE: Remote access requires creating an account using your Kean Google email credentials while you are on campus.
Visible Body Suite (Visible Body)
Features a comprehensive and user-friendly 3D reference and study tool for human anatomy. It enables users to explore general anatomy, functional units, cross sections, muscle attachments, bony landmarks, muscle actions, and more.
NOTE: First-time users must create an account before using the site. After setting up the account, you can access the Visible Body Suite from any computer on or off campus. Please refer to the Visible Body Suite guide for more information.

Nursing: Off-Site Program at Raritan Valley Community College

My Profile

Ask a Librarian

Recommended Nursing Reference Books

Advances in Contemporary Transcultural Nursing: Pathways of Cultural Awareness

Dictionary of Nursing

The Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric Health and Social Care

Encyclopedia of Epidemiology

Encyclopedia of Family Health

Encyclopedia of Global Health

Encyclopedia of Health Care Management

Encyclopedia of Health Services Research

Encyclopedia of Medical Decision Making

Encyclopedia of Nursing Research

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine

Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health

Handbook of Physiological Research Methods in Health Psychology

Health Psychology Handbook

International Encyclopedia of Public Health

SAGE Handbook of Health Psychology

SAGE Handbook of Healthcare

Recommended Transcultural Reference Books

Advances in Contemporary Transcultural Nursing: Pathways of Cultural Awareness

Encyclopedia of Global Health

Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society

Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America

Guide to Countries of the World

Handbook of World Families

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life

Country Information Databases

Reference Databases

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact