Library Barcode
We invite you to activate your library privileges by obtaining a Library Barcode for your Kean photo ID card. The Barcode will enable you to check out books, access the Library's E-book collection (130,000 titles and growing), and search the Library's research databases from off-campus. Click here to find out how to get your Barcode.
Library Brochures
- Guide for FacultyThis is a bi-fold brochure that describes the resources and services that are available to Kean faculty members.
- Library Instruction BrochureClick here for additional information about the Library Instruction / Information Literacy Program at Kean University.
- Undergraduate Student Brochure
- Graduate Student Brochure
- APA Rules of Style
- MLA Rules of Style
"How To" Guides
Please feel free to share any of the following documents with your students.
- Buscando Libros en la Biblioteca de la Universidad Kean
- How to Critically Evaluate Information Sources (some guidelines)
- How to Find a Book
- How to Find a Government Document
- How to Find a Specific Periodical
- How to Find an E-book
- How to Identify Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources
- How to Identify Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals (a few tips)
- How to Tell the Difference between a Scholarly Journal, Popular Magazine, or Trade Publication
- How to Use a Call Number
Spanish-Language Brochures
Please feel free to share any of the following documents with your students.
Research Guides
Click Research Guides Home to access a collection of subject-focused research resources. Kean University librarians created these guides to provide recommendation for starting research, finding books, finding articles (and selecting databases), finding Web sites, and citing sources.
Please feel free to incorporate links to specific Research Guides into your course Blackboard pages or syllabi.
In addition, several guides were created specifically for faculty:
- Grant Funding and Proposal Writing (contains resources on grant funding opportunities as well as tips and examples for proposal writing)
- Online Multimedia Resources (contains resources for online videos, podcasts, and other media useful for educational purposes)
Publishing Opportunities
- Accounting
- Economics and Finance
- Educational Curriculum and Methods
- Educational Psychology and Administration
- Educational Technology and Library Science
- Management
- Marketing
- Psychology and Psychiatry
Class Handouts
Visit the Class Handouts page to access a list of handouts originally created by librarians for specific undergraduate and graduate classes.
Please feel free to share any of these handouts with your students or to incorporate the links into your course Blackboard pages or syllabi.
Video Modules
The following video modules were created by librarians Craig Anderson and Linda Cifelli for the Research & Technology classes taught by Dr. Melda Yildiz, Dr. Claudie Knezek, and Professor Bridget Lepore. Each brief video lasts about 5 minutes. We recommend that you view the videos in the order listed.
- Selecting Research ToolsDemonstrates how you can use the library's Research Guides, class handouts, and Databases page to select research resources and databases for your particular research topic.
- Database Searching ICovers basic database searching techniques, such as truncation symbols and Boolean operators (and/or).
- Database Searching IIFocuses on advanced database searching techniques, such as phrase searching (quotation marks), searching by Subject headings, and field searching.
- Database Search ResultsCovers options for managing a search results list, such as limiting to scholarly/peer reviewed articles, sorting by relevance/date, and accessing full-text articles.
Library Tutorials
Please feel free to direct your students to any of these tutorials.
Guides to Specific Library Resources or Services
Please feel free to share any of the following documents with your students.
- Business Databases @ Your Library
- E-Resources Flyer
- Electronic Reserves Brochure
- EndNote Web: Create and Organize your Bibliographies with EndNote Web
- Kean-Ocean: Library Resources and Services for Kean-Ocean Students
- Raritan Valley Community College: Library Resources and Services for Kean University RN-BSN/Graduate Nursing Students at Off-Site Raritan Valley Community College Campus
- Recursos en español en la Biblioteca de la Universidad Kean
- VALE Reciprocal Borrowing Program
Kean University Library |
Contact Info Craig Anderson cjanders@kean.edu Linda Cifelli lcifelli@kean.edu Janette Gonzalez jagonzal@kean.edu Shirley Horbatt shorbatt@kean.edu Chrisler Pitts cpitts@kean.edu |
Ask a Librarian
Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.


Loading...
