This is the "Welcome to the Kean University Library" page of the "Student Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Student Guide  

Student guide to navigating the Kean University Library.
Last Updated: Mar 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.kean.edu/studentguide Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome to the Kean University Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Barcode

Why should you take the time to get a Library Barcode for your Kean photo ID card? Well, the Barcode will enable you to check out books, access the Library's E-book collection (130,000 titles and growing), and search the Library's research databases from off-campus. It only takes a few minutes. Click here to find out how to get your Barcode. 

 

Class Handouts

Visit the Class Handouts page to access a list of handouts originally created by librarians for specific undergraduate and graduate classes.

Video Modules

The following video modules were created by librarians Craig Anderson and Linda Cifelli for the Research & Technology classes taught by Dr. Melda Yildiz, Dr. Claudie Knezek, and Professor Bridget Lepore. Each brief video lasts about 5 minutes. We recommend that you view the videos in the order listed.

  • Selecting Research Tools
    Demonstrates how you can use the library's Research Guides, class handouts, and Databases page to select research resources and databases for your particular research topic.
  • Database Searching I
    Covers basic database searching techniques, such as truncation symbols and Boolean operators (and/or).
  • Database Searching II
    Focuses on advanced database searching techniques, such as phrase searching (quotation marks), searching by Subject headings, and field searching.
  • Database Search Results
    Covers options for managing a search results list, such as limiting to scholarly/peer reviewed articles, sorting by relevance/date, and accessing full-text articles.
 

Research Guides

Click Research Guides Home to access a collection of subject-focused research resources. Your Kean University librarians have created these guides to provide you with recommended resources for starting your research, finding books, finding articles (and selecting databases), finding Web sites, and citing sources.

In addition, the following guide was created specifically for students:

Kean University Library

Profile Image
Kean University Featured Guides
Contact Info
Craig Anderson cjanders@kean.edu
Linda Cifelli
lcifelli@kean.edu
Janette Gonzalez jagonzal@kean.edu
Shirley Horbatt shorbatt@kean.edu
Chrisler Pitts
cpitts@kean.edu

  Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.

Disclaimer: The Kean University Library is not responsible for the content of Web sites sponsored by external entities. Links are for educational purposes only. A Web site's presence on this list does not represent an endorsement of the site's contents. Some sites may contain graphic images or text.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip