This is the "Welcome" page of the "Kean Ocean" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Kean Ocean  

This guide serves as a gateway to Kean University Library resources and services available to Kean University students, faculty, administrators, and staff working with Kean Ocean programs at Ocean County College.
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.kean.edu/KeanOcean Print Guide

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

The Kean University Library strives to meet the information needs of the Kean community by providing a broad range of resources and services.  Although the Nancy Thompson Library is located on the Union campus, resources and services are also available to Kean Ocean students and faculty.

The Library's web page serves as the gateway to the "virtual" library. In addition, information geared to Kean Ocean students appears on this guide, not only under the current "Welcome" tab but also under the other tabbed pages listed across the top third of the page.

 

Research Guides

The Research Guides are a collection of subject-focused research resources created by the Kean University librarians to provide you with recommended resources for starting your research, finding books, finding articles (and selecting databases), finding Web sites, and citing sources.

In addition, the following guides were created specifically for students and faculty:

  • Scholarships, Financial Aid, and Grants (contains resources on scholarships and other funding opportunities for students)
  • Student Guide (provides links to library brochures, class handouts, videos, tutorials, and more)
  • Faculty Guide (provides links to a publishing opportunities database, a guide to grant-funding opportunities, a guide for online multimedia resources, library forms, class handouts, videos, tutorials, and more)
 

Library Barcode

A Library Barcode features a 14-digit number that will enable you to access the Kean University Library's ebooks and research databases, to check out books, to request delivery of books from the Nancy Thompson Library in Union to the Toms River campus, and to use other library services (such as, online reference assistance and interlibrary loan).

Kean Ocean students and faculty members may obtain a Kean Library Barcode for the back of their Kean Photo ID cards from the Kean Ocean Administration Office on the Ocean County College (OCC) campus.  Please visit the Administration Office of Kean Ocean in Room 103 of the Gateway Building at OCC, or call 732-255-0356

 

Interlibrary Loan

Kean Ocean patrons may request that materials held at the main campus in Union be delivered to the Ocean County College Library. To request a book owned by the Kean University Library, please use this form:

Kean Ocean patrons may use the Ocean County College interlibrary loan service to request books not owned by either the Kean or Ocean library:

Kean Ocean patrons may request copies of articles or book chapters not owned by either the Kean or Ocean library by filling out and submitting the appropriate Kean University Library interlibrary loan request form:

For questions regarding Interlibrary Loan, please contact Kimberly Fraone at 908-737-4600 or keanill@kean.edu.

 

Use EndNote Web or EasyBib to Help Create Your Bibliographies

Both EndNote Web and EasyBib are bibliographic citation managers, which you can use to keep track of books and articles you locate in various research databases and then to create a bibliography, References list, or Works Cited list in your required citation style (including APA, MLA, and others).

EndNote Web 
Visit the EndNote Web Guide at http://libguides.kean.edu/endnoteweb to learn more about EndNote Web, including how to sign up for your own free account.

  • Please pay particular attention on the EndNote Web Guide to the box labeled How To Register (Off-Campus) for step-by-step instructions on how to register for an EndNote Web account when you are working at a computer located at home, on the Ocean County College Campus, or at any location other than Kean's Union campus. (Basically, you will need to register for your EndNote Web account for the first time through the Web of Science database.)

  • Revisit the EndNote Web Guide at http://libguides.kean.edu/endnoteweb to access the EndNote Web Handouts, which provide step-by-step instructions for exporting article records from various library databases into your EndNote Web account. 

  • Once you've registered, you will be able to access your EndNote Web account by going directly to https://www.myendnoteweb.com/.

EasyBib 
Visit the EasyBib Guide at http://libguides.kean.edu/Easybib for more information about EasyBib and instructions on how to register for your own free account. In addition, you may access EasyBib at the link below..

Kean University Library

Profile Image
Kean University Featured Guides
Contact Info
Craig Anderson cjanders@kean.edu
Linda Cifelli
lcifelli@kean.edu
Janette Gonzalez jagonzal@kean.edu
Shirley Horbatt shorbatt@kean.edu
Chrisler Pitts
cpitts@kean.edu

Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a Kean reference librarian when you need help with your research.

  • LibAnswers (FAQ)
    Search the LibAnswers question bank for responses to frequently asked questions. You may also access LibAnswers by clicking the Ask a Librarian button on the Kean University Library web page.
  • TXT
    Send a TXT message to a Kean University librarian. Click TXT, then refer to the box on the right-hand side of the screen for more information, or simply TXT to 908-287-7629.
  • In Person
    Reference librarians are available in the Nancy Thompson Library and the OCC Library to help you find information and use library collections and resources.
  • E-mail
    Send us your questions by e-mail. You will receive a response within 24 hours, excluding holidays and weekends.
  • Phone
    Call 908-737-4629 during library hours and ask to speak with a reference librarian.
 

Guide Credits

The specialized content on this guide was written by librarian Linda Cifelli.

Disclaimer: The Kean University Library is not responsible for the content of Web sites sponsored by external entities. Links are for educational purposes only. A Web site's presence on this list does not represent an endorsement of the site's contents. Some sites may contain graphic images or text.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip