Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Work

This guide features resources relevant for social work and social welfare topics.

OER

Click on the link below for Open Educational Resources on Social Work

Mason OER Metafinder

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare

Reference Collection (Second Floor); Volumes 1-4

Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice

Electronic Resource, Volumes 1-3

Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Homelessness

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of Social Work

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Social Work with Groups

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

School Services Sourcebook, Second Edition

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia

Main Collection

Social Workers' Desk Reference

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Recommended Statistics Databases

The following databases provide access to statistics and other kinds of data.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Tests and Measures Databases

The following databases provide information that will help you identify psychological tests and measuring instruments.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Related Research Guides

Reference Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Grant Funding and Proposal Writing Research Resources

If you need to gather information about grant-funding opportunities, we recommend that you consult the Grant Funding and Proposal Writing Research Guide.