This is the "Reference Overview" page of the "Reference Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Reference Resources  

Features resources helpful for ready-reference questions: when you need quick access to facts, definitions, statistics, biographical information, maps, and so on.
Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.kean.edu/reference Print Guide RSS Updates

Reference Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Resources Overview

The phrase "reference resource" typically signifies a resource that may be consulted for relatively quick access to information, such as definitions, facts, figures, statistics, biographical information, background information, and so on. Reference information may be found in the following locations:

  • Print and Ebook Reference Collection -- Reference books are shelved in the Reference Collection on the first floor or in the Reference Collection Annex on the second floor of the Kean University Library. Reference books do not circulate (they may not be checked out of the library). However, print reference books may be consulted in the library, and relevant pages may be photocopied or scanned in the Copy Center on the first floor (next to the Circulation Desk). Books with the designation "Electronic Resource" are e-books, which are accessible by clicking the hyperlinked title.
  • Online Reference Databases -- A growing number of library databases provide reference information. You may access these databases by visiting the Library's home page (http://library.kean.edu), then clicking "Articles & More" to access the Databases page. Look for the "Reference Categories" section under the heading "Databases Listed by Format, Subject, and Reference Category."
  • Reference Web Sites -- Numerous other reference resources are freely available on the Web. Be sure to evaluate such resources carefully.

Each section of this Research Guide lists reference resources --print reference books and reference ebooks, reference databases, reference Web sites -- as they fall into various subject or format categories. Click the tabs above to access Reference Resources organized into specific categories.

My Profile

Profile Image
Linda Cifelli

Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.

Disclaimer: The Kean University Library is not responsible for the content of Web sites sponsored by external entities. Links are for educational purposes only. A Web site's presence on this list does not represent an endorsement of the site's contents. Some sites may contain graphic images or text.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip