Research Guides: Education (General): Start Your Research Here

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information.

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook

Electronic Resource

American Education: A History

Electronic Resource

Dictionary of Education

Electronic Resource

E-Learning Research

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of African American Education

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education

Electronic Resource, Volumes 1-4

Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology

Electronic Resource.

Encyclopedia of Educational Reform and Dissent

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Education Law

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of Human Development

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-3

Encyclopedia of Information Technology Curriculum Integration

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
Ref LB1028.3 .E63 2008
Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of School Psychology

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Teaching and Teacher Research

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-3

Handbook of Educational Theories

Electronic Resource

Handbook of Research on Teaching

Electronic Resource

Handbook of Urban Education

Electronic Resource

Historical Dictionary of American Education

Electronic Resource

Learning Theories: A-Z

Electronic Resource

Psychology of Classroom Learning

Electronic Resource

Routledge International Companion to Multicultural Education

Electronic Resource

SAGE Handbook for Research in Education: Engaging Ideas and Enriching Inquiry

Electronic Resource

SAGE Handbook of Curriculum and Instruction

Electronic Resource

SAGE Handbook of Early Childhood Literacy

Electronic Resource

SAGE Handbook of Educational Action Research

Electronic Resource

SAGE Handbook of Educational Leadership

Electronic Resource

SAGE Handbook of Gender and Education

Electronic Resource

SAGE Handbook of Research in International Education

Electronic Resource

Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
Ref LB3051 .A693 2014

Theories of Learning

Electronic Resource

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window Kean University's subscription to Oxford Bibliographies provides subject modules focusing on Criminology, Education, Psychology, and Social Work. For these modules, "leading scholars have produced a literary guide to the most important and significant sources in an area of study they know best. The guides feature a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult."
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.

Recommended Databases for Statistics

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window Features an online GIS mapping tool that allows users to create interactive maps and plot data by geographical location. Data indicators provided include demographics, education, income, housing, employment, health, crime, and much more.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Provides easy access to maps and reports of U.S. Census data from 1790 to the present; the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2010; population, health and social care, and labor market data from the 2011 United Kingdom Census; U.S. crime data from the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); U.S. County Health Rankings & Roadmaps; European demographic data from Eurostat; population data from the 2011 Canadian census; and demographic and socioeconomic data from World Development Indicators (World Bank).
Statista This link opens in a new window Presents data as infographics and features reports on over 80,000 topics, including media, business, healthcare, politics, society, technology, and education.

Tests and Measures Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (OvidSP) This link opens in a new window Provides "information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI...[helps] identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation." NOTE: Permits only 10 simultaneous users. Please Logoff when finished.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Offers reviews of standardized tests in education, business, psychology, and leadership. Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
PsycTests (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window “Serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.”

Do you need a research topic?

Education -- Find A Topic (Access World News Research Collection, NewsBank)

Issues & Controversies (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window Good starting point for gathering background information (including pro and con perspectives) on current hot topics; helpful source of research topic ideas.
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCOhost / JerseyClicks) (NJSL) This link opens in a new window Provides essays that present opposing viewpoints on a variety of current topics. This is a great tool for researching the pros and cons of controversial issues.

Education (General)

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Information Technology Curriculum Integration

Encyclopedia of Teaching and Teacher Research

Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Recommended Databases for Statistics

Tests and Measures Databases

Do you need a research topic?

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact