Creative Commons licenses help creators retain copyright while allowing others to copy, distribute, and make some uses of their work, at least non-commercially.
All of the Creative Commons licenses require that users provide attribution to the creator when the material is used and shared. Some licensors choose the attribution requirement as the only condition for reuse of the material; this is designated as the BY license. The other five licenses combine the BY license with one or more of three additional license elements: NonCommercial (NC), which prohibits commercial use of the material; NoDerivatives (ND), which prohibits the sharing of adaptations of the material; and ShareAlike (SA), which requires adaptations of the material be released under the same license. (Adapted from http://wiki.creativecommons.org/ FAQ#What_are_Creative_Commons_licenses.3F.)
Find photographs, including images by amateurs and professionals. Additionally, many archives use this website to host public domain images, such as the IMLS Digital Collections and Content group (https://www.flickr.com/people/imlsdcc/) and the British Library (https://www.flickr.com/photos/britishlibrary).
Explore 745,656 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. Clicking on the "Public Domain" filter on the left side of the page will ensure freely usable items are returned in your search. Website includes prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
"Burst is a free stock photo site that is powered by Shopify. We have 1000’s of high quality and royalty-free images available and free to download. This includes a wide variety of images ready for you to choose from and create with."
"A search engine for free photos. We search almost 30 million free photos under 10 free licenses." Users must verify that the licenses on this site are accurate and current for the image they want to use.
"Faculty, staff and students of the California State University System have created this searchable database which contains more than 50,000 images from throughout the world. Images are free when used for non-profit educational purposes, with appropriate credit given to the copyright holders who retain all rights to the images."
"The Met collection has grown artistically, geographically, and culturally to represent more than 5,000 years of art from across the globe—from the first cities of the ancient world to works being created today." Be sure to select the 'Public Domain Artworks' box on the left hand side of the results screen.
"The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required." More information at http://www.getty.edu/about/opencontent.html.
"We are not the only image collection on the web, neither will we ever be the largest one. We hope however to be a destination of choice for visitors more particularly interested in Victorian and French Romantic illustrations."
About 30,000 images of artwork from the Cleveland Museum of Art's world-renowned collection of art available for commercial and non-commercial purposes. Also provides access to portions of collections information (metadata) for more than 61,000 artworks, both in the public domain and those works with copyright or other restrictions.
Provides overview videos in a variety of subject areas, such as: history of science, statistics, engineering, theater and drama, media literacy, sociology, computer science, world history, biology, ecology, literature, U.S. history, chemistry, psychology, anatomy & physiology, astronomy, U.S. government & politics, economics, philosophy, physics, world mythology, and film: history, production, and criticism.
The Advanced Image Search allows you to limit your search for Google Images by Usage Rights (e.g., free to use or share; free to use or share, even commercially; free to use, share, or modify; free to use, share or modify, even commercially)
Provides access to over 7,000 videos in 13 subjects areas in math, natural science, social science, and humanities.
Because they include educational levels from middle school to college, you will need to verify that the level is appropriate for your students.
Offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. They cover math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. You must set up a free account to access.
A clearinghouse of free knowledge from the world's most inspired thinkers. TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED Videos are not officially licensed with any kind of open licensing. However, TED allows the users to freely view and download the videos without restraint.
Similar to YouTube, Vimeo hosts millions of Creative Commons-licensed videos. In addition, Vimeo provides a separate Creative Commons licensed video collection which makes the filtering process much easier.
A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. It acts as a common repository for the various projects of the Wikimedia Foundation, but you do not need to belong to one of those projects to use media hosted here. The repository is created and maintained not by paid archivists, but by volunteers.