Research Guides: OER: Mythology

Mythology OER

Ancient History Encyclopedia
This non-profit educational website combines "different media, subjects and periods in interactive ways that will help readers understand both the "big picture" and the detail."

Bulfinch's Mythology
A classic collection of Greek myths and stories for the general reader.
Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
Full-text transcripts of world folklore and mythology from the University of Pittsburgh and made available through the OER Commons.
Icelandic Saga Database
Free, full-text translations of Icelandic sagas that can be read online, or downloaded as PDF files. Select a saga and then click on the English link in the left-hand menu bar.
Internet Sacred Text Archive
Free, full-text access to a wealth of myths and religious texts from around the world. Arranged by geographic location and topic.
Project Gutenberg's Mythology Bookshelf
Free full-text access to texts on mythology from Greece, Rome, China, Egypt, Maya, and more.
Theoi Greek Mythology
The Theoi Project explores Greek mythology in classical literature and art. Free classic texts from Hesiod to Virgil are arranged in chronological order.

Arthurian Literature and Celtic Colonization
This course from MIT OpenCourseWare "examines the earliest emergence of stories about King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table in the context of the first wave of British Imperialism and the expanded powers of the Catholic Church during the twelfth and thirteenth centuries."
Myth, Ritual, and Symbolism
This course from MIT OpenCourseWare investigates "how symbols are created and structured; how they draw on and give meaning to different domains of the human world; how they are woven into politics, family life, and the life cycle; and how we can interpret them." Includes a section on mythology.
Shared Mythology
This course from Georgia Virtual Learning covers a basic introduction to mythology followed by sections on Greek and Roman, Norse, Egyptian, Japanese, British, Native American, contemporary, and comparative mythology. Includes essay topics, quizzes, reviews, interactive exercises, and more.

NorseTube
A collection of Norse mythology television, movies, and music curated by Dr. Karl E. H. Seigfried, who teaches Norse mythology at Newberry Library.

Greek Heros in Popular Culture
From OpenLearn: "This collection of video animations and audio discussions examines how the heroes of Greek mythology have been represented in popular culture, from ancient times to the modern day."
Myth in the Greek and Roman Worlds: the Temple of Diana at Nemi
From OpenLearn: "How was mythology used by ancient Romans in their everyday lives? At Nemi to the south of Rome, the sanctuary of the goddess Diana provides us with a snapshot of Roman life and society."

The Big Myth
High-quality, interactive simulations portraying creation myths from around the world, with teacher's guide and downloadable exercises. Six myths are available for free