Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: Off-Site Program at Raritan Valley Community College: Find Articles

This guide serves as a gateway to library resources and services available to students, faculty, and staff at Kean University's School of Nursing Offsite Program at Raritan Valley Community College.

Periodical Databases

You can find articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, or newspapers by searching in periodical databases.  Periodical databases always contain:

  • Citations -- author, title of article, title of journal, volume, issue, date and pages.

They may also contain:

  • Abstracts -- summaries of article content.
  • Complete articles -- in full-text or pdf image format.

When full-text links are not available, you can check for full-text access in other databases by clicking  Full Text Finder.

Please note: sometimes you see only the   symbol (and not the words "Full Text Finder"). In these cases, click the symbol to check for full-text access in other databases. 

What Is a Peer Reviewed Journal?

A scholarly, or peer-reviewed, journal contains articles that have been critiqued, reviewed, or refereed by scholars in a specific field.

Request Articles from Other Libraries through Interlibrary Loan

Students, faculty, and staff at Kean University's School of Nursing offsite program at Raritan Valley Community College may request copies of articles from periodicals that are not part of the Nancy Thompson Learning Commons' collectionSimply fill out and submit the Kean University Learning Commons Interlibrary Loan Form.

Locating Periodicals in Other Libraries

Check the New Jersey Union List of Serials to determine if a periodical is available in a library in New Jersey. It is important to confirm that a library permits public access and highly recommended to verify library holdings before making a trip.

Databases for Evidence-Based Health Care Information

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Databases for Nursing Articles

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Already Have an Article Citation?

Select the Periodicals List when you know the title of a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper and you want to find out if it is available at the Nancy Thompson Learning Commons. The list will link directly to titles that are available electronically.

Click the link listed below for help with finding periodicals:

Kean University Library

Kean University Featured Guides's picture
Kean University Featured Guides
Contact:
Craig Anderson cjanders@kean.edu
Linda Cifelli lcifelli@kean.edu
Chrisler Pitts cpitts@kean.edu
Website

Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.