Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers) in the Learning Commons

This guide provides instructions for finding periodicals in the Nancy Thompson Library Learning Commons.

What is a Periodical?

A periodical is an item that is published in regular (or periodic) intervals. Examples of periodicals are newspapers, journals, magazines, and other resources that are published daily, monthly, bi-monthly, or quarterly. The Nancy Thompson Library Learning Commons subscribes to over 55,000 periodicals, which are primarily available online.

How to Locate a Specific Journal Article

How to Find a Specific Periodical

The Periodicals A-Z List is the gateway to all of the periodicals available through the Nancy Thompson Library Learning Commons (NTLC).  Follow the instructions listed below to determine if the NTLC subscribes to a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper.

  • Go to the Nancy Thompson Library Learning Commons website http://libguides.kean.edu/NTLC.
  • Click Periodicals A-Z (below the WorldCat search box).
  • Type the periodical title in the search box.
  • Click Search.
  1. If the periodical title appears in the results list with a Full Text Access link, this means that full-text online articles are available for the date range indicated through the database(s) listed immediately below the title.  Click the database(s) listed below the title to access the full text content. 
  2. If the periodical title does not appear on the list, check with a librarian to verify that you are using the correct title for the periodical.  If the library does not subscribe to the periodical, you may request a copy of a desired article by using Interlibrary Loan (see below).
  3. Journal articles not owned by the Nancy Thompson Library Learning Commons (NTLC) may be requested from other libraries by Interlibrary Loan. Copies of articles will be emailed to the patron. Select the Article Request Form from the page linked below, then complete and submit the form online.‚Äč

What Is a Peer Reviewed Journal?

A scholarly, or peer-reviewed, journal contains articles that have been critiqued, reviewed, or refereed by scholars in a specific field.

Periodical Databases

You can find articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, or newspapers by searching in periodical databases.  Periodical databases always contain:

  • Citations -- author, title of article, title of journal, volume, issue, date and pages.

They may also contain:

  • Abstracts -- summaries of article content.
  • Complete articles -- in full-text or pdf image format.

When full-text links are not available, you can check for full-text access in other databases by clicking  Full Text Finder.

Please note: sometimes you see only the   symbol (and not the words "Full Text Finder"). In these cases, click the symbol to check for full-text access in other databases. 

Locating Periodicals in Other Libraries

Check the New Jersey Union List of Serials to determine if a periodical is available in a library in New Jersey. It is important to confirm that a library permits public access and highly recommended to verify library holdings before making a trip.