Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote Online

EndNote Online is a web-based tool that will help you manage your references (sources) and create bibliographies in various citation styles.

EndNote Online

is a web-based tool for managing your citations. EndNote Online will enable you to:

  • keep track of book and article citation records found in online catalogs and databases
  • manually add citation information for books, print journals articles, and other types of resources you have on hand
  • keep your source information organized into groups for different classes or projects
  • create bibliographies, References, and Works Cited lists in numerous citation styles (including APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more)
  • use Cite While You Write while working in Microsoft Word to cite sources in your paper and build your bibliography

In order to use EndNote Online, you must first sign up for your own free account. Choose the appropriate set of steps below, depending on whether you are using an on-campus or off-campus computer.

How to Register (On-Campus)

If you are working at a computer on the main campus in Union or the East Campus in Hillside, then follow these steps:

  • Visit the Nancy Thompson Library Learning Commons website at http://libguides.kean.edu/Library.
  • Move your cursor over the blue Research and Collections tab, then scroll down and click EndNote Online -- Citation Help.
  • Click Register.
  • Fill out the registration form in order to create a new account.

The next time you want to access EndNote Online (either from on campus or off campus), simply return to the Research and Collections section of the library's website, click EndNote Online -- Citation Help, then login with your new EndNote username and password.  You may also bookmark EndNote Online on your own computer.

How to Register (Off-Campus)

If you are working at a computer outside of the main campus in Union or the East Campus in Hillside, then follow these steps:

  • Visit the Kean University Library website at http://libguides.kean.edu/Library.
  • Click Databases A-Z (inside the WorldCat Discovery box) to access the Databases page.
  • Click the letter W on the alphabetical menu.
  • Click Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics).
  • When off-campus, login to Web of Science with your Kean Google username and password.
  • Click Sign In located in the upper right part of the Web of Science screen.
  • Click Register.
  • Follow the registration instructions to create a new account.

The next time you want to access EndNote Online (either from on campus or off campus), simply return to the Research and Collections section of the library's website, click EndNote Online -- Citation Help, then login with your new EndNote username and password.  You may also bookmark EndNote Online on your own computer.

Cite While You Write

Once you have signed up for your own free account, you can also download a free EndNote Online Plug-in onto your personal computer or laptop. This plug-in will enable you to use Cite While You Write while working in Microsoft Word. You will be able to insert in-text citations from your EndNote account and format bibliographies from within your Word document.

The plug-in is available for Windows or Macintosh.

Simply login to your EndNote Online account on your personal computer or laptop, click the yellow Options tab, click Download Installers, then follow the instructions to download Cite While You Write.

If Cite While You Write downloads successfully onto your computer or laptop, an EndNote toolbar should now be visible at the top of a Microsoft Word document.

Guide Credits

The specialized content on this guide was written by librarian Linda Cifelli.