It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Black History Month: Start Your Research Here
This guide features resources and information for Black History Month research.
Black History Month began as "Negro History Week" in February 1926. Carter G. Woodson, a Harvard trained historian and several other people, established the Association for the Study of Negro Life and History (ASNLH). He became concerned that American History did not include the achievements of Black Americans and people of African descent. Dr. Woodson chose the month of February because it included the birthdays of both Abraham Lincoln on February 12th and Frederick Douglass on February 14th, two men who made significant contributions to the lives of Black men and women in the United States. In 1976 President Gerald R. Ford officially recognized African American History Month, and each successive president has issued African American History Month proclamations.
Contains 2000 primary source documents covering the U.S. Black freedom struggle from 1790 to 2000. The collection includes historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, and correspondence from six time periods in American history.
Key reference for art; offers artist biographies as well as subject entries on artworks, genres, historical periods, and so on; includes Grove Art Online. The database also provides access to some 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online.
NOTE: Permits only eight simultaneous users.
Recommended Statistics Databases
The following databases provide access to statistics and other kinds of data.
Working from off campus?If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.