Research Guides: Harlem Renaissance: Start Your Research Here

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

The following encyclopedias and dictionaries are recommended for research relating to the Harlem Renaissance. Books with the designation "Electronic Resource" are e-books, which are accessible by clicking the hyperlinked title.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Black Women in America

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-3

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of African American Society

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-2

Landmarks of African American History

Electronic Resource

Lift Every Voice: The History of African American Music

Electronic Resource

Women Artists of the Harlem Renaissance

Electronic Resource

Lost Plays of the Harlem Renaissance, 1920-1940

Electronic Resource

Writing the Harlem Renaissance

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance

Electronic Resource

African American Roots of Modernism: From Reconstruction to the Harlem Renaissance

Electronic Resource

Harlem Renaissance

Electronic Resource

Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

African-American History (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window Provides reference book articles about people, organizations, and events in African American history; also features timelines, primary source materials, images, videos, and maps.
AM Explorer (Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window Provides access to millions of primary source documents in the social sciences and humanities from the 15th to 21st centuries. Subject coverage includes history, literature, language, culture, and politics. The collection features artistic works, diaries, manuscripts, letters, pamphlets, newspapers, videos, photographs, maps, and more.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Contains 2000 primary source documents covering the U.S. Black freedom struggle from 1790 to 2000. The collection includes historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, and correspondence from six time periods in American history.
Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Provides access to 600+ theatre productions, 800+ video resources, and teaching and learning guides for Theatre, English Language Arts, and Performing Arts. The database features contemporary theatre productions, musicals, poetry, operas, interviews, lectures, lesson plans, and behind-the-scenes documentaries.
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window Offers streaming audio access to CDs, focusing on classical music but also including some jazz, folk, blues, world, pop, rock, gospel, and spoken word.
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window Offers streaming audio access to CDs by jazz legends and contemporary jazz artists.

Recommended Statistics Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window Features an online GIS mapping tool that allows users to create interactive maps and plot data by geographical location. Data indicators provided include demographics, education, income, housing, employment, health, crime, and much more.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Provides easy access to maps and reports of U.S. Census data from 1790 to the present; the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2010; population, health and social care, and labor market data from the 2011 United Kingdom Census; U.S. crime data from the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); U.S. County Health Rankings & Roadmaps; European demographic data from Eurostat; population data from the 2011 Canadian census; and demographic and socioeconomic data from World Development Indicators (World Bank).
Statista This link opens in a new window Presents data as infographics and features reports on over 80,000 topics, including media, business, healthcare, politics, society, technology, and education.

Harlem Renaissance

Do you need a research topic?

My Profile

Ask a Librarian

Related Research Guides

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Black Women in America

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present

Encyclopedia of African American Society

Landmarks of African American History

Lift Every Voice: The History of African American Music

Women Artists of the Harlem Renaissance

Lost Plays of the Harlem Renaissance, 1920-1940

Writing the Harlem Renaissance

Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance

African American Roots of Modernism: From Reconstruction to the Harlem Renaissance

Harlem Renaissance

Online Encyclopedia Databases

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Recommended Statistics Databases

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact