Research Guides: Covid-19 Pandemic Resources and Research: Start Your Research Here

Consider the Sources of Your Information

"COVID-19 Doesn't Care" A Public Health Short Video
Written, directed and produced by Jeffrey Toney, PhD and Stephanie Ishack, MD, PhD.
Sponsored by Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Honor Society and Science Talk!

Recommended Ebooks

Pandemics, Pills, and Politics

Electronic Resource

Pandemics

Electronic Resource

Infectious Diseases

Electronic Resource

Black's Medical Dictionary

Electronic Resource

Human Diseases and Conditions

Electronic Resource

Worldmark Global Health and Medicine Issues

Electronic Resource

Public Health Law

Electronic Resource

Dictionary of Epidemiology

Electronic Resource

Primary Care and Public Health

Electronic Resource

Recommended Database for Coronavirus Research

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Coronavirus Research Database (ProQuest) -- Complimentary This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of open-access articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more related to the COVID-19 pandemic and other coronaviruses, including MERS and SARS.

Additional databases for current COVID-19 articles:

Health and Medicine -- Find A Topic (America's News, NewsBank) "Find information on topics related to diseases and conditions, fitness and wellness, medical care, mental health, nutrition and sports medicine."

Issues & Controversies (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window Good starting point for gathering background information (including pro and con perspectives) on current hot topics; helpful source of research topic ideas.
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCOhost / JerseyClicks) (NJSL) This link opens in a new window Provides essays that present opposing viewpoints on a variety of current topics. This is a great tool for researching the pros and cons of controversial issues.

Databases for Historical Research on Pandemics

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

America's Historical Newspapers (Readex) This link opens in a new window Provides access to early American newspapers from 1690 to 1789.
Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window Provides archival access to scholarly journals in wide-ranging academic disciplines; JSTOR does not provide the most recent issues but instead provides access to a journal's older issues.
New Jersey Historical Newspapers (Readex) This link opens in a new window Provides access to late 18th and 19th century New Jersey newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (VALE) This link opens in a new window Digital image archive of the New York Times beginning in September 1851 and ending several years before the current year.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.

Multimedia Database

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) This link opens in a new window JoVE is a peer-reviewed scientific video resource featuring high-quality demonstrations and detailed protocols that support biological, medical, chemical, and physical research. The journal includes the following sections: Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Cancer Research, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environment, Genetics, Immunology and Infection, Medicine, and Neuroscience. NOTE: Remote access requires creating an account using your Kean Google email credentials while you are on campus.
Visible Body Suite (Visible Body) This link opens in a new window Features a comprehensive and user-friendly 3D reference and study tool for human anatomy. It enables users to explore general anatomy, functional units, cross sections, muscle attachments, bony landmarks, muscle actions, and more. NOTE: First-time users must create an account on campus before using the site. After setting up the account, you can access the Visible Body Suite from any computer on or off campus. Please refer to the Visible Body Suite guide for more information.

Statistics Database

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window Features an online GIS mapping tool that allows users to create interactive maps and plot data by geographical location. Data indicators provided include demographics, education, income, housing, employment, health, crime, and much more.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Provides easy access to maps and reports of U.S. Census data from 1790 to the present; the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2010; population, health and social care, and labor market data from the 2011 United Kingdom Census; U.S. crime data from the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); U.S. County Health Rankings & Roadmaps; European demographic data from Eurostat; population data from the 2011 Canadian census; and demographic and socioeconomic data from World Development Indicators (World Bank).
Statista This link opens in a new window Presents data as infographics and features reports on over 80,000 topics, including media, business, healthcare, politics, society, technology, and education.

Covid-19 Pandemic Resources and Research

Profile

Ask a Librarian

Related Research Guides

Consider the Sources of Your Information

Recommended Ebooks

Pandemics, Pills, and Politics

Pandemics

Infectious Diseases

Black's Medical Dictionary

Human Diseases and Conditions

Worldmark Global Health and Medicine Issues

Public Health Law

Dictionary of Epidemiology

Primary Care and Public Health

Recommended Database for Coronavirus Research

Databases for Historical Research on Pandemics

Multimedia Database

Statistics Database

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact