Skip to Main Content

Public Health

This guide provides essential resources for public health and community health research.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information.

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Community Health Reference Books

Black's Medical Dictionary

Electronic Resource

Clinical Research Methodology and Evidence-Based Medicine: The Basics

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Dictionary of Epidemiology

Electronic Resource

Dictionary of Health Education

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Elder Care

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Health Communication

Electronic Resource

Evidence-Based Practice Manual

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Foundations of School and Community Health Education

Electronic Resource

Handbook of Global Health Policy

Electronic Resource

Human Diseases and Conditions

Electronic Resource

International Encyclopedia of Public Health

Electronic Resource

Palgrave Handbook of Social Theory in Health, Illness and Medicine

Electronic Resource

Primary Care and Public Health

Electronic Resource

World Health Systems

Electronic Resource 2019

Essentials of Epidemiology in Public Health

Electronic Resource

Introduction to Global Health Promotion

Electronic Resource

Qualitative Methods in Public Health

Electronic Resource

Oxford Dictionary of Public Health (2nd edition)

Electronic Resource

Wiley Encyclopedia of Health Psychology

Electronic Resource 2020

Databases for Evidence-Based Health Care and Systematic Reviews

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Cochrane Databases -- please use EBM (Evidence Based Medicine) Reviews

EBM (Evidence Based Medicine) Reviews (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment, NHS Economic Evaluation Database. NOTE: Permits only two simultaneous users. Please Log Out when finished.
JBI EBP Database (formerly Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice) (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Includes: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets (BPIS), Systematic Reviews, and Consumer Information Sheets (CIS).
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Provides coverage of nursing, allied health, and alternative medicine periodicals as well as training videos and transcultural information. Also features systematic reviews, evidence summaries, and best practice information from The Joanna Briggs Institute.

Country Information Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Political Handbook of the World (CQ Press/Congressional Quarterly) This link opens in a new window "Comprehensive country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties, as well as profiles on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations."

Statistics & Data Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window Features an online GIS mapping tool that allows users to create interactive maps and plot data by geographical location. Data indicators provided include demographics, education, income, housing, employment, health, crime, and much more.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Provides easy access to maps and reports of U.S. Census data from 1790 to the present; the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2010; population, health and social care, and labor market data from the 2011 United Kingdom Census; U.S. crime data from the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); U.S. County Health Rankings & Roadmaps; European demographic data from Eurostat; population data from the 2011 Canadian census; and demographic and socioeconomic data from World Development Indicators (World Bank).
Statista This link opens in a new window Presents data as infographics and features reports on over 80,000 topics, including media, business, healthcare, politics, society, technology, and education.

Reference Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

DSM-V Online (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition; American Psychiatric Association) This link opens in a new window "This is the fifth edition of the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, or DSM-V."
Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window Provides access to a collection of online videos that enable students to observe the practice of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.
Kanopy (Kanopy, Inc.) This link opens in a new window
Visible Body Suite (Visible Body) This link opens in a new window Features a comprehensive and user-friendly 3D reference and study tool for human anatomy. It enables users to explore general anatomy, functional units, cross sections, muscle attachments, bony landmarks, muscle actions, and more. NOTE: First-time users must create an account on campus before using the site. After setting up the account, you can access the Visible Body Suite from any computer on or off campus. Please refer to the Visible Body Suite guide for more information.

Recommended Tests and Measures Databases

The following databases provide information that will help you identify psychological tests and measuring instruments.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (OvidSP) This link opens in a new window Provides "information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI...[helps] identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation." NOTE: Permits only 10 simultaneous users. Please Logoff when finished.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Offers reviews of standardized tests in education, business, psychology, and leadership. Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
PsycTests (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window “Serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.”

Last Updated: Apr 24, 2024 3:25 PM
URL: https://libguides.kean.edu/communityhealth
Print Page

Subjects: Community Health, Evidence-Based Health Care, Health, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health