Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing

Highlights resources relevant for nursing and allied health fields.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Nursing Reference Books

Clinical Research Methodology and Evidence-Based Medicine: The Basics

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Dictionary of Nursing

Electronic Resource

Evidence-Based Practice Manual for Nurses

Main Collection

Manual of School Health: A Handbook for School Nurses, Educators, and Health Professionals

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Merck Manual of Medical Information

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Nursing Leadership: A Concise Encyclopedia

2nd ed.; Electronic Resource

SAGE Handbook of Healthcare

Electronic Resource

Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Recommended Transcultural Reference Books

Countries and Their Cultures

Main Collection

Handbook of World Families

Main Collection

Handbook of World Families

Electronic Resource

Statistics & Data Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Reference Databases

The following databases provide access to online encyclopedias covering multidisciplinary topics. Remember, these subject encyclopedias are great sources of background information on countless topics.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Databases for Evidence-Based Health Care Information

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Country Information Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Tests and Measures Databases

The following databases provide information that will help you identify psychological tests and measuring instruments.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Nursing Reference Books

The following encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, and handbooks are recommended for research relating to Nursing. Books with a Call Number beginning with the letters "Ref" are shelved in alphanumeric order by call number in the Reference Collection on the second floor of the Nancy Thompson Learning Commons. Books with the designation "Electronic Resource" are e-books, which are accessible by clicking the hyperlinked title.

Recommended Transcultural Reference Books

The following encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, and handbooks are recommended for research relating to Transcultural Nursing. Books with a Call Number beginning with the letters "Ref" are shelved in alphanumeric order by call number in the Reference Collection on the second floor of the Nancy Thompson Learning Commons. Books with the designation "Electronic Resource" are e-books, which are accessible by clicking the hyperlinked title.