Research Guides: Occupational Therapy: Start Your Research Here

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Aging and Diet

Electronic Resource 2020

Best practices for occupational therapy in schools

Electronic Resource 2019

Clinical Research in Occupational Therapy

Electronic Resource 2019

Current medical diagnosis & treatment 2023

Electronic Resource 2023

Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Geriatrics, 3/e

Electronic Resource 2020

Fundamentals of Occupational Therapy : an Introduction to the Profession.

Electronic Resource 2018

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health

Electronic Resource 2013

Mosby's Field Guide to Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction

Electronic Resource 2012

Occupational Therapy Evaluation for Children

Main Collection 2014

Orthotic Design and Fabrication for the Upper Extremity: A Practical Guide

Electronic Resource 2019

Principles of rehabilitation medicine. Case-based board review

Electronic Resource 2022

Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy

7th edition
Electronic Resource 2020

Rehabilitation of the Hand and Upper Extremity

Two-volume set
Electronic Resource 2014

Telehealth and occupational therapy in schools

Electronic Resource 2021

Qualitative Research Methodologies for Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy

2nd edition
Electronic Resource 2023

International Handbook of Occupational Therapy Interventions

2nd edition
Electronic Resource 2014

Kielhofner's Research in Occupational Therapy: Methods of Inquiry for Enhancing Practice

3rd edition
Electronic Resource 2024

Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process (Fourth Edition)

Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process (Fourth Edition; American Occupational Therapy Association)
"The fourth edition of the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process...is an official document of the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA). Intended for occupational therapy practitioners and students, other health care professionals, educators, researchers, payers, policymakers, and consumers, the OTPF–4 presents a summary of interrelated constructs that describe occupational therapy practice."

Recommended Online Reference Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

DSM-V Online (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition; American Psychiatric Association) "This is the fifth edition of the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, or DSM-V."
Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
SAGE Knowledge Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.

Recommended Databases for Evidence-Based Health Care Information

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (VALE) Features scholarly information for over 50 nursing specialties and allied health research and provides access to more than 2,000+ full-text journals. The database also includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, and research Instruments.
Cochrane Databases Please use EBM (Evidence Based Medicine) Reviews.
EBM (Evidence Based Medicine) Reviews (Ovid) Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment, NHS Economic Evaluation Database. NOTE: Permits only two simultaneous users. Please Log Out when finished.
EBSCOhost Nursing, Health and Medical Resources Select from Kean's EBSCOhost nursing, health, and medical databases for simultaneous searching.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (OvidSP) Provides "information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI...[helps] identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation." NOTE: Permits only 10 simultaneous users. Please Logoff when finished.
JBI EBP Database (formerly Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice) (Ovid) Includes: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets (BPIS), Systematic Reviews, and Consumer Information Sheets (CIS).
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (VALE) Contains references to authoritative literature on nursing, medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and more.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) (VALE) Provides coverage of nursing, allied health, and alternative medicine periodicals as well as training videos and transcultural information. Also features systematic reviews, evidence summaries, and best practice information from The Joanna Briggs Institute.

A Practical Guide: Data Extraction for Intervention Systematic Reviews "Shaped by insights from hundreds of researchers, this guide aims to distill the collective wisdom and best practices of the global systematic review community. It offers definitions, practical advice, links to the Cochrane Handbook, downloadable templates, and real-world examples from studies."
A Practical Guide: Protocol Development for Systematic Reviews "Welcome to this practical guide to protocol development for systematic reviews. Whether you’re an experienced researcher or just starting out, this guide can help you develop your review protocol which will help you plan and manage your systematic review."
A Practical Guide to Screening for Systematic Reviews "Screening is an important step in any type or size of literature review. The process of screening ensures that the studies in the review are relevant to the review question. It also ensures that the review is based on the highest-quality evidence and adheres to pre-specified criteria. Screening can be extremely resource intensive."

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press) Provides access to a collection of online videos that enable students to observe the practice of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Drama & Theatre, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.
ICE Learning Center (International Clinical Educators) Features videos for physical and occupational therapy. Videos are "filmed with actual patients and therapists in real-life treatment settings including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU. Diagnosis include musculoskeletal, nervous system, mental and behavioral disorders, respiratory, and pediatrics." NOTE: To access the database, please use your Kean University email address and create a password. For more information, click the following link: Access Instructions.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) JoVE is a peer-reviewed scientific video resource featuring high-quality demonstrations and detailed protocols that support biological, medical, chemical, and physical research. The journal includes the following sections: Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Cancer Research, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environment, Genetics, Immunology and Infection, Medicine, and Neuroscience. NOTE: Remote access requires creating an account using your Kean Google email credentials while you are on campus.
Visible Body Suite (Visible Body)
Features a comprehensive and user-friendly 3D reference and study tool for human anatomy. It enables users to explore general anatomy, functional units, cross sections, muscle attachments, bony landmarks, muscle actions, and more.
NOTE: First-time users must create an account before using the site. After setting up the account, you can access the Visible Body Suite from any computer on or off campus. Please refer to the Visible Body Suite guide for more information.

Occupational Therapy

My Profile

Ask a Librarian

Guide Editor

Related Research Guides

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Aging and Diet

Best practices for occupational therapy in schools

Clinical Research in Occupational Therapy

Current medical diagnosis & treatment 2023

Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Geriatrics, 3/e

Fundamentals of Occupational Therapy : an Introduction to the Profession.

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health

Mosby's Field Guide to Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction

Occupational Therapy Evaluation for Children

Orthotic Design and Fabrication for the Upper Extremity: A Practical Guide

Principles of rehabilitation medicine. Case-based board review

Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy

Rehabilitation of the Hand and Upper Extremity

Telehealth and occupational therapy in schools

Qualitative Research Methodologies for Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy

International Handbook of Occupational Therapy Interventions

Kielhofner's Research in Occupational Therapy: Methods of Inquiry for Enhancing Practice

Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process (Fourth Edition)

Recommended Online Reference Databases

Recommended Databases for Evidence-Based Health Care Information

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact