Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Composition (ENG 1030-1033)

This guide serves as a gateway to library research for students enrolled in the College Composition course. Additional resources focus on the evaluation of sources.

Need Help Thinking of a Topic?

The following databases might help you gather ideas for your argument/persuasive essay, since they provide information regarding opposing viewpoints.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password. 

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture

Nancy Thompson Library Annex

Encyclopedia of Media and Politics

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of U. S. Political History

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures: Cities and Cultures Around the World

Main Collection

Freedom of Speech: A Reference Guide to the United States Constitution

Main Collection

Handbook of Urban Education

Electronic Resource

Handbook of World Families

Electronic Resource

Handbook of World Families

Main Collection

Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia

Main Collection

Encyclopedia Databases

The following databases provide access to online encyclopedias covering multidisciplinary topics. Remember, these subject encyclopedias are great sources of background information on countless topics.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password. 

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password. 

Recommended Statistics Databases

The following databases provide access to statistics and other kinds of data.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.