Skip to Main Content

Migration and Immigration

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias and Other Reference Resources

American Immigration

Electronic Resource

Atlas of American Migration

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Diasporas

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-2

Handbook of World Families

Electronic Resource

Immigration and Multiculturalism: Essential Primary Sources

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Immigration in U. S. History

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-2

Social History of the United States

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-10

Recommended Online Encyclopedia and Reference Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Statistics Databases

The following databases provide access to statistics and other kinds of data.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Do you need a research topic?