Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sustainability Science

Provides resources relevant for sustainability science.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Ecology

Electronic Resource

Dictionary of Ecology

Main Collection

Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering

Reference Collection -2nd floor

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity

Main Collection
5 volumes

Encyclopedia of Energy

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues

Nancy Thompson Library Annex

Encyclopedia of Global Change: Environmental Change and Human Society

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of the Global Economy: A Guide for Students and Researchers

Nancy Thompson Library Annex

Encyclopedia of World Climatology

Main Collection

Environmental Health: From Global to Local

Electronic Resource
"Provides an overview of methods and paradigms used in this exciting field, ranging from ecology to epidemiology, from toxicology to environmental psychology, from genetics to ethics to religion.”

Environmental Issues in American History: A Reference Guide with Primary Documents

Reference Collection

Global Warming

Main Collection

Life on Earth: An Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Ecology, and Evolution

Main Collection

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Related Research Guides

BuildingGreen

Link to BuildingGreen

Take advantage of Kean University’scampus-wide subscription to BuildingGreen. Use our full access to BuildingGreen.com for reliable, well-researched content onprogressive design strategies and green materials. BuildingGreen includes The Building Green Report and GreenSpec.