Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biological Sciences

Provides resources for the biological sciences.

OER

Click the link below to search Open Educational Resources in the Biological Sciences:

Mason OER Metafinder

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Concise Encyclopedia of the Ethics of New Technologies

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Dictionary of Biology

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Dictionary of Genetics

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Early Stages of Atlantic Fishes: An Identification Guide for the Western Central North Atlantic

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Biology

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal, and Policy Issues in Biotechnology

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Genetics

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics, and Informatics

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Human-Animal Relationships : a Global Exploration of Our Connections with Animal

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Facts on File Biology Handbook

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Facts on File Dictionary of Biology

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Grzimekā€™s Animal life encyclopedia

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Human Genome Sourcebook

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Keywords and Concepts in Evolutionary Developmental Biology

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Life on Earth: An Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Ecology, and Evolution

Main Collection

McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Bioscience

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Recommended Titles for Statistical Methods in the Sciences