Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biological Sciences

Provides resources for the biological sciences.

My Profile

Profile Photo
Craig Anderson
He/Him/His
Contact:
Nancy Thompson Library Learning Commons. Rm: L-101B.
Oatmeal Preferences: Brown Sugar & Mixed Fruit
908-737-4602
Skype Contact: librarianinreallife

Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.

Guide Credits

Shirley Horbatt is the original author of this guide, which she updated through March 2016.

Guide Editor

Jennifer Stevenson edited and updated this guide Fall 2022.

OER

Click the link below to search Open Educational Resources in the Biological Sciences:

Mason OER Metafinder

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Biology

Reference Collection Section - 2nd Floor (2004)

Encyclopedia of Genetics

Reference Collection Section - 2nd Floor (2006)

Encyclopedia of Human-Animal Relationships : a Global Exploration of Our Connections with Animal

Reference Collection Section - 2nd Floor (2009)

General Biology

Electronic Resource 2020

Heritable Human Genome Editing

Electronic Resource 2020

Human Genetics and Ethics

Electronic Resource 2018

Livestock

Electronic Resource 2018

Recommended Titles for Statistical Methods in the Sciences

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases