Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Career Exploration and Résumé Writing: Start Your Research Here

Features resources helpful for exploring various occupations, career options, and industries. Also provides recommendations for resources that will help with the résumé-writing process.

OER

Click on the link below for Open Educational Resources for Career Exploration and Resume Writing:

Careers: Mason OER Metafinder

Resume Writing: Mason OER Metafinder

Kean University's Office of Career Development and Advancement

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password. 

Company and Industry Research Resources

If you are preparing for a job interview, we recommend that you consult the Company and Industry Information Research Guide to gather information about specific companies and industries.

Recommended Online Reference Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password. 

Recommended Résumé-Writing Reference Books

The following books are recommended for information relating to résumé writing. Books with a Call Number beginning with the letters "Ref" are shelved in alphanumeric order by call number in the Reference Collection on the second floor of the Nancy Thompson Learning Commons. Books with the designation "Electronic Resource" are e-books, which are accessible by clicking the hyperlinked title.

Recommended Career Encyclopedias and Other Reference Books

The following encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, and handbooks are recommended for research relating to careers. Books with a Call Number beginning with the letters "Ref" are shelved in alphanumeric order by call number in the Reference Collection on the second floor of the Nancy Thompson Learning Commons. Books with the designation "Electronic Resource" are e-books, which are accessible by clicking the hyperlinked title.

Subject Guide

Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.