Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OER

Open and Affordable Educational Resources

Mason OER Meta Finder

MOM iconMason OER Metafinder (MOM)

 
Advanced Search

General Resources

CRL digitizes materials from our collections to support research and teaching. CRL also negotiates favorable terms with publishers for member institutions to acquire major electronic resources locally.

HathiTrust (listen to pronunciation) is a growing, global partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to research, scholarship, and the common good by collaboratively collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating, and sharing the record of human knowledge. There are more than 140 members in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide.

OpenDOAR is the quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories. It enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories, based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held. Tools and support enable both repository administrators and service providers to share best practice and improve the quality of the repository infrastructure.

Create & collaborate with Educators Around the World to Improve Curriculum. Network hub for educators. Public digital library. Create custom collections. High quality resources. Free online resources. Common Core. Create, organize, share.

“MERLOT currently indexes tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder web pages, together with associated comments, bookmark collections, and course ePortfolios, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material. All of these items have been contributed by the MERLOT member community, who have either authored the materials themselves, or who have discovered the materials, found them useful, and wished to share their enthusiasm for the materials with others in the teaching and learning community.”

The Curriki Library hosts thousands of standards-aligned lessons so you don't have to start from scratch. Members are invited to align their own resources and collections with our easy to use alignment tool.

California Open Online Library for Education

Our high-quality educational tools give students access to the learning materials they need to succeed, at little to no cost. Because we don't believe anything should come between students and their future.

The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.

The De Gruyter group publishes over 1,300 new titles each year in the humanities, social sciences, STM and law, more than 700 subscription based or Open Access journals, and a variety of digital products.

Bloomsbury Collections delivers instant access to quality research and provides libraries with a flexible way to build eBook collections across the humanities and social sciences. It contains over 6,000 titles, featuring content from Bloomsbury’s latest research publications as well as a 100+ year legacy including Continuum, T&T Clark, Bristol Classical Press, Berg, The Arden Shakespeare and Hart Publishing.

Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitised items – books, music, artworks and more with sophisticated search and filter tools. Thematic collections on art, fashion, music, photography and World War I contain galleries, blogs and exhibitions.

DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format. The cultural institutions participating in DPLA represent the richness and diversity of America itself, from the smallest local history museum to our nation’s largest cultural institutions.

Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn. It offers nearly 100 full-length courses at the college and professional levels, each of which is available right now -- at your pace, on your schedule, and free of cost.

This website is dedicated to providing easy pathways for faculty to learn, find, use and apply OER. A categorized search guide for all types of OER. We have broken down these resources to help you choose those that best fit your needs. For each you’ll find a list of unique traits, licensing information, and an example of how to attribute the source.

Mason’s library system has realized extensive transformation in all key areas necessary for academic success in the 21st century.  They have achieved robust collections growth – especially in their extensive digital resources and noteworthy special collections.  It provides integrated services, offer innovative programs, and undertake leading-edge initiatives utilizing the latest technologies.

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities

Open Access Articles

CORE harvests research papers from data providers from all over the world including institutional and subject repositories, open access and hybrid journal publishers. CORE currently contains 135,539,113 open access articles, from thousands and over tens of thousands of journals, collected from 5,969  data providers around the world. CORE will supply data for the UK REF 2021 Open Access Policy Audit to Research England. It provides advice and support to UK HEIs with exposing their outputs data to CORE.

Archival Materials

The National Archives Catalog is the online public portal to the records and information about the records. The catalog currently provides access to over 2 million electronic records currently in the Electronic Records Archives (ERA), which are not available elsewhere online.

Conference Papers

All Academic is an application service provider specializing in tools for the academic research community. It provides convention and abstract management servicesarchiving of academic materials, and tools for academic research.

Music Scores

IMSLP stands for the International Music Score Library Project and was started in 2006.It was published in Venice in 1501 by Ottaviano Petrucci, the library's namesake. At the IMSLP, it is believed that music should be something that is easily accessible for everyone. To this end, they have created the IMSLP in order to provide music scores free of charge to anyone who has internet access.

Magazines

EARTH Magazine, published by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI), is dedicated to providing accurate and verifiable information — as well as a diversity of factually informed opinions — reported by scientists, authors, journalists and editors. In bringing the science behind the headlines to the public, it strives to report on science and issues related to science that are relevant for their content alone, not their possible political implications; to verify the accuracy of the information we publish and the credibility of the sources from which that information comes; to show tolerance of differing points of view or interpretations of the data without bias; to balance the public’s need for information against reporting that may cause anyone undue harm; and to refrain from any discrimination based on race, religion, age, gender, ethnicity, disability or sexual orientation.

Newspapers

The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) is an independent federal agency created in 1965. It is one of the largest funders of humanities programs in the United States.Because democracy demands wisdom, NEH serves and strengthens our republic by promoting excellence in the humanities and conveying the lessons of history to all Americans. The Endowment accomplishes this mission by awarding grants for top-rated proposals examined by panels of independent, external reviewers.

NewspaperArchive.com is the first commercial newspaper archive online. It went live on December 3rd, 1999. The archives contain more than 12,299+ different titles from every US state and twenty-eight other countries around the world. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword, date, place, and title making it easy for you to quickly see if they have the article you’re seeking. Newspaper pages are being added faster than you can search them - with one newspaper page added every second - that's over 80,000 images a day, or 2.5 million pages per month.

This is a list of online newspaper archives and some magazines and journals, including both free and pay wall blocked digital archives. Most are scanned from microfilm into pdf, gif or similar graphic formats and many of the graphic archives have been indexed into searchable text databases utilizing optical character recognition (OCR) technology.

Open Culture

This blog formatted repository seeks to bring together free resources on culture and education. The list of movies here is impressive.

http://www.openculture.com/

 

Edsitement!

Edsitement is a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the National Trust for the Humanities.

Edsitement  offers a treasure trove for teachers, students, and parents searching for high-quality material on the Internet in the subject areas of literature and language arts, foreign languages, art and culture, and history and social studies.

All websites linked to Edsitement have been reviewed for content, design, and educational impact in the classroom. They cover a wide range of humanities subjects, from American history to literature, world history and culture, language, art, and archeology, and have been judged by humanities specialists to be of high intellectual quality. Edsitement is not intended to represent a complete curriculum in the humanities, nor does it prescribe any specific course of study.

https://edsitement.neh.gov/

 

Create a Course ePortfolio

Build your entire course – from prerequisites to online resources to assessment.

https://www.merlot.org/merlot/addCoursePortfolio.htm

 

Open Scout

UK based database of business skills teaching resources. Includes articles, tutorials, video and much more in a variety of languages.

http://learn.openscout.net/

 

List of Full Courses (OCW - Open Course Ware)

 

Images

Smithsonian 

Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

Science Articles

Coronoa Virus and more

SCIENCE has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880 and continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world.

Linkedln Learning

Kean University Lynda.com access has been upgraded to LinkedIn Learning. 

If you have a kean.edu account, you have full access to LinkedIn Learning for free. In order for you to sign up or upgrade, you will need to go to the following link: https://lnkd.in/d4Qm-gv 

If you have problems getting access, please contact Professor Ed Johnston at the following: jedward@kean.edu.

APA Style Guide