Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architectural Studies: Start Your Research Here

OER

Click the link below to search for Open Educational Resources (OER) in Architectural Studies and Design.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)

Kean University subscribes to LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com), which provides video courses focusing on creative, business, software, and technology skills. Click the link below to access Kean's subscription:

LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)

This resource offers more than 4,000 courses and nearly 176,000 video tutorials. Access requires login with a Kean Google email username and password. 

Recommended Image Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password. 

Recommended Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password. 

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password. 

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

The following encyclopedias and dictionaries are recommended for Architectural Studies research. Books with a Call Number beginning with the letters "Ref" are shelved in alphanumeric order by call number in the Reference Collection on the second floor of the Nancy Thompson Library Learning Commons (NTLC). Books with the designation "Electronic Resource" are e-books, which are accessible by clicking the hyperlinked title.

Subject Guide

Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.