Research Guides: Urban Planning &amp; Design in the Architectural Landscape: Start Your Research Here

Welcome to the Urban Planning & Design in the Architectural Landscape LIbGuide

Need to select a research topic or find background information?

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information.

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Main Collection

HT108.5 .E53 2002

Green cities : an A-to-Z guide

Electronic Resource 2011

Routledge Handbook of Planning and Management of Global Strategic Infrastructure Projects

Electronic Resource 2020

Recommended Image Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google Email username and password.

ARTSTOR - Avery/GSAPP Architectural Plans and Sections (Columbia University)
Artstor has partnered with the Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation at Columbia University (GSAPP) and the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library to publish over 20,000 images of architectural plans and sections, along with related materials. This release makes a wealth of visual material and associated scholarship accessible online for the first time.
Building Types Online
Building Types Online is a leading resource for studying and practicing architectural design. With over 1300 entries, 6300 drawings, and 2700 photographs, it offers a wealth of knowledge from renowned experts in the field. The database provides detailed search and browse access to Birkhäuser's building types program. NOTE: This database is only available on campus.
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970
Offers a digital compilation of more than 1,000 large-scale maps depicting New Jersey cities and towns from the 1880s to the 1950s. These maps provide intricate details about each building's layout, dimensions, and height. To access the collection, click "Browse and Explore," then choose "New Jersey," "Select a city," and "Date."
Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Portal is a valuable, free search tool provided by the Getty Research Institute. Users can explore and access digitized art history texts, rare books, and other related scholarly literature.
Graphic Design Archive (Rochester Institute of Technology) - Free Database
“The Graphic Design Archives at RIT [Rochester Institute of Technology] document and preserve the work of significant American graphic designers active from the 1920s to the 1950s. In addition, selected contemporary designers working in the modernist traditions are also included."
Oxford Art Online (Oxford University Press) (VALE)
Key reference for art; offers artist biographies as well as subject entries on artworks, genres, historical periods, and so on; includes Grove Art Online. The database also provides access to some 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online. NOTE: Permits only eight simultaneous users.
Oxford Reference: Art and Architecture (Oxford University Press)
The Oxford Reference: Art and Architecture is a thorough reference tool made available by the Oxford University Press. This resource gives users access to a plethora of definitions, key concepts, biographies, essays, and any other documentation that provides a connection or relevance to art and architecture.
Stash (Stash Media) -- To Access Must Sign In with Kean University Credentials
Online video library of Animation VFX and Motion Design