Accessible DesignDesign Industry NewsDigital Collections and ImagesGovernment ResourcesIndustrial Design ResourcesSustainable DesignTextiles and Fabrics
This is the "Start Your Research Here" page of the "Industrial Design" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Industrial Design  

This guide features resources for Industrial Design research.
Last Updated: Jun 3, 2013 URL: http://libguides.kean.edu/industrialdesign Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Start Your Research Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Library’s Reference Collection includes subject-focused encyclopedias. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

The Reference Collection also includes a variety of other sources where you can find definitions, maps, statistics, and a multitude of facts.

Why not use Wikipedia? Since Wikipedia is an open-source resource, anyone (perhaps a subject expert, a non-expert, or even someone playing a prank) can create or edit a Wikipedia article. On the other hand, reference books go through an editing and often a fact-checking process, which lends a level of trustworthiness to the information provided.  

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

 

  Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a unique database that locates both printed and online reference material that might otherwise remain hidden. It searches back-of-the-book indexes and article titles in thousands of encyclopedias and other reference works owned by Kean University Library.

Type any word or phrase in the box below, then click Search.
 
Enter your search terms:

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Library Barcode number. Find out how to get a Barcode

 

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

The following encyclopedias and dictionaries are recommended for research relating to Industrial Design. Books with a Call Number beginning with the letters "Ref" are shelved in alphanumeric order by call number in the Reference Collection on the first floor or in the Reference Collection Annex on the second floor of the Kean University Library. Books with the designation "Electronic Resource" are e-books, which are accessible by clicking the hyperlinked title.

Cover Art
300 Years of Industrial Design
Call Number: Ref TS 171.4 H4 2000
ISBN: 9780713650389
Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

Cover Art
50 Designers You Should Know
Call Number: Ref NK 1166 .A13 2012
ISBN: 9783791347202
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Concise Dictionary of Art Terms
ISBN: 9780199569922
Publication Date: 2010
Electronic Resource

Cover Art
Contemporary Designers
Call Number: Ref NK 1390 .C655 1997
ISBN: 1558621849
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Design Dictionary
Call Number: Ref NK 1165 .W6713 2008
ISBN: 9783764377397
Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

Cover Art
Design Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref NK 1370 .B93 2004
ISBN: 087070012X
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Design for Environment: A Guide to Sustainable Product Development
Call Number: Ref TS 171.4 .D478 2009
ISBN: 9780071605564
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Dictionary of Architecture
Call Number: Ref NA 31 .C86 1999
ISBN: 0192100068
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Dictionary of Architecture and Building Construction
ISBN: 9780750685023
Publication Date: 2008
Electronic Resource

Cover Art
Dictionary of Architecture and Construction
Call Number: Ref NA 31 .H32 2006
ISBN: 9780071452373
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Dictionary of Art
Call Number: Ref N 31 .D5 1996
ISBN: 1884446000
Reference Collection (First Floor)
Volumes 1-34

Cover Art
Dictionary of Ecodesign: An Illustrated Reference
ISBN: 9780415458993
Publication Date: 2010
Electronic Resource

Cover Art
Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
ISBN: 9780199239665
Publication Date: 2010
Electronic Resource

Cover Art
Dictionary of Modern Design
ISBN: 9780192800978
Publication Date: 2005
Electronic Resource

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture
Call Number: Ref NA 680 .E495 2004
ISBN: 1579582435
Reference Collection (First Floor)
Volumes 1-3

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture
ISBN: 9781579582432
Publication Date: 2003
Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-3

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Architecture
Call Number: Ref NA 31 .E59 1988
ISBN: 081601423X
Reference Collection (First Floor)
Four Volumes

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Furniture
Call Number: Ref NK 2205.A7
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Furniture Making
Call Number: Ref TT 194 .J69 1987
ISBN: 9780806971421
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Materials, Parts, and Finishes
ISBN: 9781566766616
Publication Date: 2002
Electronic Resource

Cover Art
Graphic Design: The 50 Most Influential Graphic Designers in the World
Call Number: Ref NC 999.2 G47 2010
ISBN: 9781408120026
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
ISBN: 9780195189483
Publication Date: 2006
Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-2

Cover Art
Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art
ISBN: 9780195313918
Publication Date: 2008
Electronic Resource

Cover Art
Handbook of Research on Trends in Product Design and Development
Call Number: Ref TS 171.4 .H36 2011
ISBN: 9781615206179
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Industrial Design
Call Number: Ref TS 171.4 .L47 2008
ISBN: 9780470055380
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Inspiring Designers
Call Number: Ref NK 1390 .R63 2004
ISBN: 9781904772002
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
New Jersey Architecture
Call Number: Ref NA 730 .N36 H36 1995
ISBN: 0897430816
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Plastics Materials and Processes: A Concise Encyclopedia
ISBN: 9780471456032
Publication Date: 2003
Electronic Resource

Cover Art
Sourcebook of Modern Furniture
Call Number: Ref NK 2395 .H34 1997
ISBN: 0393730107
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Universal Principles of Design
Call Number: Ref NK 1165 .L53 2010
ISBN: 9781592535873
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Visual Dictionary of Architecture
ISBN: 9780470648858
Publication Date: 2011
Electronic Resource

Cover Art
Visual Dictionary of Interior Architecture and Design
Call Number: Ref NK 1704 .C63 2009
ISBN: 9782940373802
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Who's Who in Design
Call Number: Ref NK 1167 .W48 2003
Reference Collection (First Floor)

My Profile

Profile Image
Chrisler Pitts
Contact Info
(908) 737-4613
Send Email

Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.

Disclaimer: The Kean University Library is not responsible for the content of Web sites sponsored by external entities. Links are for educational purposes only. A Web site's presence on this list does not represent an endorsement of the site's contents. Some sites may contain graphic images or text.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip