Research Guides: World War II: Start Your Research Here

Kean University History Department

Visit the History Department's web page for excellent "Research Paper" resources:

Kean University History Department The department webpage provides two sections offering tips for writing papers and citing sources: * Click "Student Resources," then scroll down and click "Research and Writing." * Click "History 1062," click "Student Resources" (on the left-hand side of page), then click "Writing Student Papers."

Recommended Subject-Focused Books

Daily Life in Nazi-Occupied Europe

Electronic Resource

The Red Army and the Second World War

Electronic Resource

Recommended Online Reference Databases

The following databases provide access to online encyclopedias covering multidisciplinary topics. Remember, these subject encyclopedias are great sources of background information on countless topics.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

African-American History (Infobase Learning)
Provides reference book articles about people, organizations, and events in African American history; also features timelines, primary source materials, images, videos, and maps.
American Indian History (Infobase Learning)
Features reference book articles about people and events in American Indian History; also includes biographies, timelines, primary source materials, images, videos, and maps.
Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCOhost) (VALE)
Features biographical profiles, as well as obituaries, magazine articles, images, and even performance reviews.
Britannica Online (Encyclopaedia Britannica)
The academic online version of the famous Encyclopaedia Britannica.
Facts on File Online Databases (now Infobase Learning)
Offers a menu of all of the Facts on File (now Infobase Learning) reference and news databases, with options for searching simultaneously in several databases.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCOhost)
Includes over 25,000 encyclopedia entries on a variety of topics.
World Constitutions Illustrated (HeinOnline)
Features the current constitution of every country in the world, with text provided in its original language(s) and in English translation. Also provides "more than 800 classic books on constitutions, constitutional history and jurisprudence, and political and economic history."

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

AP Archive "Welcome to AP’s archive YouTube channel. AP’s archive contains historical and contemporary film and video from the world's largest and oldest news agency."

Films on Demand (Infobase Learning)
Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Drama & Theatre, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.
Naxos Music Library
Offers streaming audio access to CDs, focusing on classical music but also including some jazz, folk, blues, world, pop, rock, gospel, and spoken word.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Offers streaming audio access to CDs by jazz legends and contemporary jazz artists.

World War II

My Profile

Ask a Librarian

Related Research Guides

Guide Editor

Kean University History Department

Recommended Subject-Focused Books

Glory in Their Spirit

Citizen Internees

Daily Life in Nazi-Occupied Europe

Tragedy and Triumph

The Sailor

Unsung Heroes of World War II

War at the Margins

Rethinking World War Two

The Red Army and the Second World War

Innocent Witnesses

Recommended Online Reference Databases

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact