Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Holocaust, Genocide and Modern Humanity (ID 1800)

This guide contains library resources on Holocaust, Genocide and Modern Humanity as well as links to internal and external sources on the topic, including sources in Spanish.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Library’s Reference Collection includes subject-focused encyclopedias. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

The Reference Collection also includes a variety of other sources where you can find definitions, maps, statistics, and a multitude of facts.

Why not use Wikipedia? Since Wikipedia is an open-source resource, anyone (perhaps a subject expert, a non-expert, or even someone playing a prank) can create or edit a Wikipedia article. On the other hand, reference books go through an editing and often a fact-checking process, which lends a level of trustworthiness to the information provided.  

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information for Holocaust, Genocide and Modern Humanity topics.

Recommended Subject-Focused Reference Resources

Dictionary of International Human Rights Law

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section -  2nd Floor

Dictionary of the Holocaust: Biography, Geography, and Terminology

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons(Library) Reference Collection Section  -  2nd Floor
One copy in Holocaust Resource Center (2nd Floor)

Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book link Online Access Only

Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book link Online Access Only

Encyclopedia of Social Problems

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons(Library) Electronic Resource E-Book link

Access Online Only Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide

Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations

Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work

Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources

 Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Human Rights and the World's Major Religions

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section -  2nd Floor

International Human Rights in Context: Law, Politics, Morals: Text and Materials

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section - 2nd Floor

The Wilson Chronology of Human Rights

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google Email  username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google Email username and password.