Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Worlds of History (HIST 1062): Post World War II

This guide serves as a gateway to library research for students enrolled in the Worlds of History course, focusing on the history of world civilizations as related to events during the period after the Second World War.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

The Arab Spring

Electronic Resource

Civil Rights Movement

Electronic Resource

Complete Book of Spaceflight

Electronic Resource

Dictionary of World History

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues

Nancy Thompson Library Annex

Encyclopedia of Modern China

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Russian History

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of the Cold War

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History

Main Collection

Greek Homosexuality

Electronic Resource

Sexuality in World History

Electronic Resource

Silent Spring

Main Collection (Third Floor)

Silk Road Encyclopedia

Electronic Resource

Recommended Online Reference Databases

The following databases provide access to online encyclopedias covering multidisciplinary topics. Remember, these subject encyclopedias are great sources of background information on countless topics.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.