Research Guides: Special Education: Start Your Research Here

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook

Electronic Resource

The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research

Electronic Resource

Comprehensive Guide to Special Education Law

Electronic Resource

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5)

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of American Disability History

Reference Collection (Second Floor), Volumes 1-3

Encyclopedia of Education Law

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of Education Law

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent

Electronic Resource, Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of School Psychology

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Special Education

Reference Collection (Second Floor), Volumes 1-4

Gifted Education: Current Perspectives and Issues

Electronic Resource

Handbook of Leadership and Administration for Special Education

Electronic Resource

Handbook of Special Education

Electronic Resource

History of Special Education

Electronic Resource

Learning Disabilities Sourcebook (6th Edition)

Electronic Resource

Preparing Effective Special Education Teachers

Electronic Resource

Psychology of Classroom Learning

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-2

SAGE Handbook of Curriculum and Instruction

Electronic Resource

SAGE Handbook of Special Education

Electronic Resource, Volumes 1-2

Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
.

Using the National Gifted Education Standards for PreK-12 Professional Development

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Using the National Gifted Education Standards for University Teacher Preparation Programs

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

DSM-V Online (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition; American Psychiatric Association) "This is the fifth edition of the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, or DSM-V."
Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
Oxford Bibliographies Online Kean University's subscription to Oxford Bibliographies provides subject modules focusing on Criminology, Education, Psychology, and Social Work. For these modules, "leading scholars have produced a literary guide to the most important and significant sources in an area of study they know best. The guides feature a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult."
SAGE Knowledge Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean email username and password.

Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press) Provides access to a collection of online videos that enable students to observe the practice of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Drama & Theatre, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) JoVE is a peer-reviewed scientific video resource featuring high-quality demonstrations and detailed protocols that support biological, medical, chemical, and physical research. The journal includes the following sections: Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Cancer Research, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environment, Genetics, Immunology and Infection, Medicine, and Neuroscience. NOTE: Remote access requires creating an account using your Kean Google email credentials while you are on campus.
Psychotherapy.net Features a library of streaming videos relevant for clinical psychology.
Symptom Media Film Library (Symptom Media) Features an online mental health education and training film library with hundreds of mental health simulations. These films provide visual guideposts to enhance understanding of mental health diagnoses and decrease the stigma associated with psychological issues. The collection includes DSM-5-TR and ICD 10 Guided Case Studies and Assessment Tools. Each video ranges from 30 seconds to 15 minutes and includes a full-text transcript.

Tests and Measures Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean email username and password.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (OvidSP) Provides "information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI...[helps] identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation." NOTE: Permits only 10 simultaneous users. Please Logoff when finished.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCOhost) (VALE) Offers reviews of standardized tests in education, business, psychology, and leadership. Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
PsycTests (EBSCOhost) (VALE) “Serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.”

Special Education

My Profile

Ask a Librarian

Related Research Guides

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook

The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research

Comprehensive Guide to Special Education Law

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5)

Encyclopedia of American Disability History

Encyclopedia of Education Law

Encyclopedia of Education Law

Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent

Encyclopedia of School Psychology

Encyclopedia of Special Education

Gifted Education: Current Perspectives and Issues

Handbook of Leadership and Administration for Special Education

Handbook of Special Education

History of Special Education

Learning Disabilities Sourcebook (6th Edition)

Preparing Effective Special Education Teachers

Psychology of Classroom Learning

SAGE Handbook of Curriculum and Instruction

SAGE Handbook of Special Education

Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing

Using the National Gifted Education Standards for PreK-12 Professional Development

Using the National Gifted Education Standards for University Teacher Preparation Programs

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Tests and Measures Databases

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact