Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Poetry

This guide features information and resources for research on both Classical and Modern Poetry.

OER

Click on the link below for Open Educational Resources for Poetry

Mason OER Metafinder

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

African, Caribbean, and Latin-American Writers

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

African American Poets

Electronic Resource

Analyzing Popular Music

Electronic Resource

Beats: A Literary Reference

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

Concordance to "The Complete Poems and Plays of T. S. Eliot"

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

Critical Survey of Poetry, English Language Series

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-8

Emily Dickinson Encyclopedia

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of American Poetry

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature

Main Collection (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-5

Multicultural Writers since 1945: An A-to-Z Guide

Main Collection (Third Floor)

Oxford Book of English Mystical Verse

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

Poet's Glossary

Electronic Resource

Poetry and Drama

Electronic Resource

Reading Song Lyrics

Electronic Resource

Women and Poetry, 1660-1750

Electronic Resource

World's Best Poetry

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)
Multiple Volumes

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.