Skip to main content

Library Services 

Contactless Book Pickup Service 

 

Access to book shelves in the Main, Reference, and Juvenile collections is currently restricted to Learning Commons employees. However, Kean students, faculty, staff, and administrators may utilize our Contactless Book Pickup Service to access print books from these collections. Click the link below for instructions on how to submit a Place Hold request for a print book and make arrangements for contactless pickup in the Learning Commons.

View book loan policies on the Circulation page.

Library Resources 

 

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, certain library services, such as physical course reserves, are temporarily suspended. Please check out some of the other services that we provide, such as: 

Electronic Books

The Nancy Thompson Learning Commons provides a wide variety of e-books, available through our WorldCat Discovery. You can find these resources by searching our catalog here: https://kean.on.worldcat.org/discovery , and then limiting your results to "e-books" using the menu on the left. 

You can also access e-books by searching our many online databases that often include e-book resources. Click on the following link to access our e-book databases: https://libguides.kean.edu/az.php?t=2322

 

Databases A-Z 

The online databases available through the Nancy Thompson Learning Commons provide a wealth of online resources in a variety of subjects and disciplines. The databases are provided by vendors and academic sources to enable the Kean University community to access scholarly articles, e-books, government documents, and much more. The database list can be searched by subject area, database type, or vendor. Visit the following link to access our extensive list of online academic databases: http://libguides.kean.edu/az.php

 

Open Educational Resources 

Open Educational Resources or OER, are scholarly resources produced under an open-source or Creative Commons license. This free license allows for the copying, modification, distribution, and/or sharing of these resources, depending on permissions set by the author. OER allows for the open exchange of ideas and creative works throughout the academic community. For more information about accessing/sharing/using Open Educational Resources, please see our OER Research Guide here: http://libguides.kean.edu/OER.

Appointments 

 

Kean Librarians are available for appointments.  Click the link below for appointment availability. 

https://kean.libcal.com/appointments

If you need research assistance when the Learning Commons is closed, please utilize the 24/7 Remote Education Support Chat widget available on the Learning Commons website learningcommons.kean.edu

Library services 

 

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, certain library services, such as physical course reserves, are temporarily suspended. Please check out some of the other services that we provide, such as: 

Research Guides 

The Nancy Thompson Learning Commons provides a large collection of online Research Guides for use by the Kean University community. These Research Guides are designed to showcase the various resources that the Learning Commons provides on a wide scope of subjects, topics, and disciplines. The Research Guides contain links to e-books, articles, websites, and much more. Visit the Research Guides at: libguides.kean.edu

 

Course Reserves

The Course Reserves collection provides Kean students with access to course-related materials that are required or recommended by Kean professors. Reserve materials are available at the Circulation Desk during all Nancy Thompson Learning Commons hours of operation. All Reserve items that are checked out must be returned to the Front-End Operations Desk 30 minutes before closing.

Additionally, some professors place articles on E-Reserves, which may be accessed online through the Worldcat Discovery search bar on the Learning Commons home page

 

Interlibrary Loan 

Many of the items that are not carried by the Nancy Thompson Learning Commons can be accessed through our Interlibrary Loan system. This system allows for items that are held by other academic institutions to be lent to Kean University. At the present time, the circulation of physical books and other items has been temporarily suspended until further notice. However, electronic items from other institutions can still be accessed through Interlibrary Loan. Simply go to https://libguides.kean.edu/ILL for more information on how to request electronic items through Interlibrary Loan. 

Research and Reference 

 

Listed below are the various options to enable you to contact a Kean Librarian or Library professional: 

Library Resources / Information Literacy Workshops

 

Please visit the link below to view a schedule of upcoming online workshop:

Information Literacy / Library Resources Workshops

For more information about Information Literacy support resources/services available through the Learning Commons, please visit the Information Literacy page.

Browse the full collection of magazine titles