Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Rights: Start Your Research Here

This guide contains library resources on Human Rights as well as links to internal and external sources on the topic, additional to sources on "Derechos Humanos" in Spanish.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Library’s Reference Collection includes subject-focused encyclopedias. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

The Reference Collection also includes a variety of other sources where you can find definitions, maps, statistics, and a multitude of facts.

Why not use Wikipedia? Since Wikipedia is an open-source resource, anyone (perhaps a subject expert, a non-expert, or even someone playing a prank) can create or edit a Wikipedia article. On the other hand, reference books go through an editing and often a fact-checking process, which lends a level of trustworthiness to the information provided.  

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information for Human Rights topics.

Related Research Guides

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Subject-Focused Reference Resources

The following Reference Resources are recommended for research relating to Human Rights. Books with a Call Number beginning with the letters "Ref" are shelved in alphanumeric order by call number in the Reference Collection on the second floor of the Kean University Library. Books with the designation "Electronic Resource" are e-books, which are accessible by clicking the hyperlinked title.

Subject Guide

Craig Anderson's picture
Craig Anderson
Contact:
Nancy Thompson Library Learning Commons. Rm: The glass cubicle on the first floor all the way to the right.
908-737-4602
Oatmeal Preferences: Brown Sugar & Mixed Fruit
Elder Scrolls Online: Lachrymaius
Skype Contact: librarianinreallife

Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.