Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Rights

This guide contains library resources on Human Rights as well as links to internal and external sources on the topic, additional to sources on "Derechos Humanos" in Spanish.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Reference Resources

Dictionary of International Human Rights Law

Dictionary of the Holocaust: Biography, Geography, and Terminology

Reference Collection
One copy in Holocaust Resource Center (2nd floor)

Encyclopedia of Social Problems

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide

Hate Crimes: A Reference Handbook

Main Collection

Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations

Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources

Reference Collection (First Floor)

Human Rights and the World's Major Religions

International Human Rights in Context: Law, Politics, Morals: Text and Materials

The Wilson Chronology of Human Rights

Main Collection

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Statistics Databases

The following databases provide access to statistics and other kinds of data.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.