Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geology and Meteorology

Provides resources relevant for geology and meteorology.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Library’s Reference Collection includes subject-focused encyclopedias. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

The Reference Collection also includes a variety of other sources where you can find definitions, maps, statistics, and a multitude of facts.

Why not use Wikipedia? Since Wikipedia is an open-source resource, anyone (perhaps a subject expert, a non-expert, or even someone playing a prank) can create or edit a Wikipedia article. On the other hand, reference books go through an editing and often a fact-checking process, which lends a level of trustworthiness to the information provided.  

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to Geology and Meteorology topics.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Earth Sciences

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section - 2nd floor

Dictionary of Weather

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library)  Electronic Resource E-Book link Online Access Only

Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section - 2nd floor

Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book link Online Access Only.

Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library)  Electronic Resource
"Provides comprehensive coverage of Quaternary Science, a multi-disciplinary subject, spanning the geography, biology, physics and chemistry of the Earth. Examines the nature and causes of changes in the natural environment of the Earth over the last c. 2.6 million years."

Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section - 2nd floor

Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate Change: A Complete Visual Guide

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section - 2nd floor

Encyclopedia of World Climatology

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Global Warming

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Storm and Cloud Dynamics

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book link Online Access Only 

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google Email Username and Password.