Research Guides: Genetic Counseling: Start Your Research Here

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Black's Medical Dictionary

Electronic Resource

Dictionary of Genetics

Electronic Resource

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Genetics

QH427 .E53 2004
Reference Collection, 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics

QH431 .E62 2005
Volumes 1-8
Reference Collection, 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Genetics Research

Electronic Resource

Mosby's Medical Dictionary

Electronic Resource

Recommended Subject-Focused Books

Ethical Dilemmas in Genetics and Genetic Counseling

Electronic Resource

Genetic Counseling Research

Electronic Resource

Genetic Counseling Practice

Electronic Resource

Counseling About Cancer: Strategies for Genetic Counseling

Electronic Resource

Harper's Practical Genetic Counselling

Electronic Resource

Genetic Testing

Electronic Resource

Precision Medicine: A Guide to Genomics in Clinical Practice

Electronic Resource

Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics

Electronic Resource

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean email username and password.

Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
SAGE Knowledge Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean email username and password.

Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press) Provides access to a collection of online videos that enable students to observe the practice of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Drama & Theatre, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) JoVE is a peer-reviewed scientific video resource featuring high-quality demonstrations and detailed protocols that support biological, medical, chemical, and physical research. The journal includes the following sections: Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Cancer Research, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environment, Genetics, Immunology and Infection, Medicine, and Neuroscience. NOTE: Remote access requires creating an account using your Kean Google email credentials while you are on campus.
Psychotherapy.net Features a library of streaming videos relevant for clinical psychology.
Symptom Media Film Library (Symptom Media) Features an online mental health education and training film library with hundreds of mental health simulations. These films provide visual guideposts to enhance understanding of mental health diagnoses and decrease the stigma associated with psychological issues. The collection includes DSM-5-TR and ICD 10 Guided Case Studies and Assessment Tools. Each video ranges from 30 seconds to 15 minutes and includes a full-text transcript.
Visible Body Suite (Visible Body) Features a comprehensive and user-friendly 3D reference and study tool for human anatomy. It enables users to explore general anatomy, functional units, cross sections, muscle attachments, bony landmarks, muscle actions, and more. NOTE: First-time users must create an account before using the site. After setting up the account, you can access the Visible Body Suite from any computer on or off campus. Please refer to the Visible Body Suite guide for more information.

Recommended Statistics Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean email username and password.

PolicyMap Features an online GIS mapping tool that allows users to create interactive maps and plot data by geographical location. Data indicators provided include demographics, education, income, housing, employment, health, crime, and much more.
Social Explorer Provides easy access to maps and reports of U.S. Census data from 1790 to the present; the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2010; population, health and social care, and labor market data from the 2011 United Kingdom Census; U.S. crime data from the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); U.S. County Health Rankings & Roadmaps; European demographic data from Eurostat; population data from the 2011 Canadian census; and demographic and socioeconomic data from World Development Indicators (World Bank).
Statista Presents data as infographics and features reports on over 80,000 topics, including media, business, healthcare, politics, society, technology, and education.

Genetic Counseling

My Profile

Ask a Librarian

Related Research Guides

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Black's Medical Dictionary

Dictionary of Genetics

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary

Encyclopedia of Genetics

Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics

Encyclopedia of Genetics Research

Mosby's Medical Dictionary

Recommended Subject-Focused Books

Ethical Dilemmas in Genetics and Genetic Counseling

Genetic Counseling Research

Genetic Counseling Practice

Counseling About Cancer: Strategies for Genetic Counseling

Harper's Practical Genetic Counselling

Genetic Testing

Precision Medicine: A Guide to Genomics in Clinical Practice

Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Recommended Statistics Databases

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact