Research Guides: Early Childhood Education: Start Your Research Here

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

The following encyclopedias and dictionaries are recommended for research relating to Early Childhood Education. Books with the designation "Electronic Resource" are e-books, which are accessible by clicking the hyperlinked title.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Cognitive Development

Electronic Resource

Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development

Electronic Resource

Blackwell Handbook of Early Childhood Development

Electronic Resource

Blackwell Handbook of Infant Development

Electronic Resource

Dictionary of Education

Electronic Resource

Handbook of Child Psychology, Cognition, Perception, and Language

Electronic Resource

SAGE Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood Education

Electronic Resource

SAGE Handbook of Child Research

Electronic Resource

SAGE Handbook of Early Childhood Literacy

Electronic Resource

Wiley Handbook of Early Childhood Care and Education

Electronic Resource

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean email username and password.

Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window Kean University's subscription to Oxford Bibliographies provides subject modules focusing on Criminology, Education, Psychology, and Social Work. For these modules, "leading scholars have produced a literary guide to the most important and significant sources in an area of study they know best. The guides feature a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult."
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean email username and password.

Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Drama & Theatre, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.

Tests and Measures Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean email username and password.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (OvidSP) This link opens in a new window Provides "information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI...[helps] identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation." NOTE: Permits only 10 simultaneous users. Please Logoff when finished.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Offers reviews of standardized tests in education, business, psychology, and leadership. Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
PsycTests (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window “Serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.”

Recommended Statistics Databases

The following databases provide access to statistics and other kinds of data.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean email username and password.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window Features an online GIS mapping tool that allows users to create interactive maps and plot data by geographical location. Data indicators provided include demographics, education, income, housing, employment, health, crime, and much more.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Provides easy access to maps and reports of U.S. Census data from 1790 to the present; the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2010; population, health and social care, and labor market data from the 2011 United Kingdom Census; U.S. crime data from the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); U.S. County Health Rankings & Roadmaps; European demographic data from Eurostat; population data from the 2011 Canadian census; and demographic and socioeconomic data from World Development Indicators (World Bank).
Statista This link opens in a new window Presents data as infographics and features reports on over 80,000 topics, including media, business, healthcare, politics, society, technology, and education.

Early Childhood Education

My Profile

Do you need a research topic?

Ask a Librarian

Related Research Guides

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Cognitive Development

Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development

Blackwell Handbook of Early Childhood Development

Blackwell Handbook of Infant Development

Dictionary of Education

Handbook of Child Psychology, Cognition, Perception, and Language

SAGE Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood Education

SAGE Handbook of Child Research

SAGE Handbook of Early Childhood Literacy

Wiley Handbook of Early Childhood Care and Education

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Tests and Measures Databases

Recommended Statistics Databases

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact