Research Guides: Counselor Education: Start Your Research Here

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information.

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling

Electronic Resource

Addressing Cultural Complexities in Counseling and Clinical Practice

Main Collection (Second Floor)
BF 636.7.C76 H39 2022

APA Dictionary of Psychology (2nd edition)

Electronic Resource

APA Dictionary of Statistics and Research Methods

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
BF 76.5 .A7263 2014

Counseling Across the Lifespan

Electronic Resource

Counselor Education in the 21st Century

Electronic Resource

Diagnostic And Statistical Manual Of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR)

Electronic Resource

Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment and Treatment

Electronic Resource

Displaying Your Findings: A Practical Guide for Creating Figures, Posters, and Presentations

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
BF 76.8 .N53 2010

DSM-5® Pocket Guide for Child and Adolescent Mental Health

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy

Main Collection (Third Floor)
RC 489.B4 E485 2005

Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
LB 1027.55 .E48 2008
Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of School Psychology

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment

Electronic Resource

Evaluating Student Learning Outcomes in Counselor Education

Electronic Resource

Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health

Electronic Resource

Handbook of International School Psychology

Electronic Resource

Handbook of Psychology: Assessment Psychology

Electronic Resource

National Counselor Examination (NCE) Passbook Study Guide

Electronic Resource

PASS: Prepare, Assist, Survive, and Succeed - A Guide to Passing the Praxis Exam in School Psychology

Electronic Resource

Practical Handbook of School Psychology: Effective Practices for the 21st Century

Electronic Resource

Psychology of Classroom Learning

Electronic Resource

SAGE Handbook for Research in Education

Electronic Resource

School Psychology Licensure Exam Guide

Electronic Resource

Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
LB 3051 .A693 2014
.

DSM-V Online (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition; American Psychiatric Association)

DSM-V Online (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition; American Psychiatric Association) This link opens in a new window
"This is the fifth edition of the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, or DSM-V."

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window Provides access to a collection of online videos that enable students to observe the practice of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Drama & Theatre, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) This link opens in a new window JoVE is a peer-reviewed scientific video resource featuring high-quality demonstrations and detailed protocols that support biological, medical, chemical, and physical research. The journal includes the following sections: Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Cancer Research, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environment, Genetics, Immunology and Infection, Medicine, and Neuroscience. NOTE: Remote access requires creating an account using your Kean Google email credentials while you are on campus.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window Features a library of streaming videos relevant for clinical psychology.
Symptom Media Film Library (Symptom Media) This link opens in a new window Features an online mental health education and training film library with hundreds of mental health simulations. These films provide visual guideposts to enhance understanding of mental health diagnoses and decrease the stigma associated with psychological issues. The collection includes DSM-5-TR and ICD 10 Guided Case Studies and Assessment Tools. Each video ranges from 30 seconds to 15 minutes and includes a full-text transcript.

Recommended Tests and Measures Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (OvidSP) This link opens in a new window Provides "information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI...[helps] identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation." NOTE: Permits only 10 simultaneous users. Please Logoff when finished.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Offers reviews of standardized tests in education, business, psychology, and leadership. Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
PsycTests (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window “Serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.”

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window Kean University's subscription to Oxford Bibliographies provides subject modules focusing on Criminology, Education, Psychology, and Social Work. For these modules, "leading scholars have produced a literary guide to the most important and significant sources in an area of study they know best. The guides feature a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult."
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.

Recommended Statistics Databases

The following databases provide access to statistics and other kinds of data.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window Features an online GIS mapping tool that allows users to create interactive maps and plot data by geographical location. Data indicators provided include demographics, education, income, housing, employment, health, crime, and much more.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Provides easy access to maps and reports of U.S. Census data from 1790 to the present; the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2010; population, health and social care, and labor market data from the 2011 United Kingdom Census; U.S. crime data from the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); U.S. County Health Rankings & Roadmaps; European demographic data from Eurostat; population data from the 2011 Canadian census; and demographic and socioeconomic data from World Development Indicators (World Bank).
Statista This link opens in a new window Presents data as infographics and features reports on over 80,000 topics, including media, business, healthcare, politics, society, technology, and education.

Counselor Education

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Addressing Cultural Complexities in Counseling and Clinical Practice

APA Dictionary of Statistics and Research Methods

Displaying Your Findings: A Practical Guide for Creating Figures, Posters, and Presentations

Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy

Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology

Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing

DSM-V Online (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition; American Psychiatric Association)

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Recommended Tests and Measures Databases

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Recommended Statistics Databases

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact